Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Hardware

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:33 PM
DanF DanF is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Malta (EU)
Posts: 822
DanF is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Hard Drive issue

Hi all hope you're all well!

I've had a customer calling me because his system won't boot. Windows tries to boot and it restarts while loading Windows. What I've noticed is that the loading bar keeps stopping a lot and then all of a sudden a BSOD appears and restarts immediately. It doesn't work in safe mode and I've tried everythin in BIOS.

Then, seeing I could do nothing on the system itself, I've proceeded with connecting the HDD to a working system, via internal SATA. The system is running Windows 7, and it doesn't load with the HDD connected; so I've connected the hdd externally using a SATA to USB adapter. It took AGES for the hdd to get setup. It gets installed right away but it takes ages to appear in My Computer and in Computer Management.

Computer Management stops responding until it is detected. When it gets detected it tells me that the HDD is not formatted and it needs to be formatted with an option to Format. Upon checking out My Computer and double clicking on the HDD it gets stuck, and it does not open. It does the same sound like it's trying to do something, but it can't.

I've had the same issue long long time ago, but can't remember what I did. My bet is that the hard drive has gone bad. My question is, can I try something else? Secondly, the client does not have any important data, but he asked me if I could backup certain information only if possible. What can I do?

Thanks

Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:38 PM
NickCat11's Avatar
NickCat11 NickCat11 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,324
NickCat11 is on a distinguished road
Default

It definitely sounds like the drive is going bad or it has some bad sectors where its getting stuck. Did you give HDTune a try to see if you can get them SMART details off of it or do an error scan? I had something similiar happen last week. I ran HDD Regenerator, it took 7 hours but when it was finished it fixed the bad sectors and allowed me to access the drive with no problem.
__________________
Nicholas Catanoso
Garden Greenhouse and Nursery
Avalon Campground
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:44 PM
kagman's Avatar
kagman kagman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,326
kagman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kagman Send a message via Yahoo to kagman
Default

I suggest Spinrite... One should have this great piece of software. If the hard drive has a bad section or if the ECC is not correcting files as it writes the data to the drive then this might help.. Get it at grc.com. Now its 90 dollars but it can help out. Depending on the damage on the hard drive the scan will take hours upon hours.

Thats just my advice. I'm sure that others here will have some great advice or other software suggestions for you.. Good luck

--Jose--
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:55 PM
DanF DanF is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Malta (EU)
Posts: 822
DanF is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Applications won't even run if the drive is connected. Even if it's not plugged into the wall lol, strange huh. So I can't use HD Tune or anything unless it decides to show up.

I'll try a new HDD on the customer's system just to make sure it's actually the HDD that's messing up everything.

EDIT: Actually I've managed to get HD Tune to start testing. It showed up all of a sudden.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:58 PM
NickCat11's Avatar
NickCat11 NickCat11 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,324
NickCat11 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF View Post

EDIT: Actually I've managed to get HD Tune to start testing. It showed up all of a sudden.
Is there any external noises (clicking, etc)?
__________________
Nicholas Catanoso
Garden Greenhouse and Nursery
Avalon Campground
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:00 PM
kagman's Avatar
kagman kagman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,326
kagman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kagman Send a message via Yahoo to kagman
Default

Best to use a program that boots up within its own environment bypassing windows or what ever OS is installed on the computer.


--Jose--
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:11 PM
DanF DanF is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Malta (EU)
Posts: 822
DanF is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yes, that's why I think it's going bad. To be honest, it clicks most of the time, on and off, on and off. But it's not doing it while HD Tune is running. So far no errors detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickCat11 View Post
Is there any external noises (clicking, etc)?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:15 PM
DanF DanF is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Malta (EU)
Posts: 822
DanF is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Can you recommend any specific one? Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kagman View Post
Best to use a program that boots up within its own environment bypassing windows or what ever OS is installed on the computer.


--Jose--
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:25 PM
HubCityPC's Avatar
HubCityPC HubCityPC is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 336
HubCityPC is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to HubCityPC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF View Post
Can you recommend any specific one? Thanks.
As mentioned earlier, Spinrite. You boot to it from CD, a thumb drive or even a floppy.

Also try MHHD.

Kevin

Last edited by HubCityPC; 02-22-2010 at 10:33 PM. Reason: added link
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:44 AM
othersteve othersteve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 517
othersteve is on a distinguished road
Default

Just a bit of personal advice: be sure to create a full image of the drive before running SpinRite. As it sounds as though this particular drive is mechanically failing, it's quite possible that SpinRite could kill it completely once it's run.
__________________
-Steve

Born a technician, though always willing to learn and improve. :)

Managing Editor, DigitalChumps.com
Senior Editor, Notebookcheck
Laptop Dude, PC Perspective
Owner/Sole Proprieter, Triple-S Computers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.