Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2010, 05:44 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Default Is there a way to back out of a partial windows re-install?

Well I got a couple laptops in that were affected by the Windows update issue. Which, by the way, seems to only be a problem on computers running SecureIT. Anyway, I was able to get in and renamed the conflicting file and they both booted up. Problem is, one of them booted into the XP Pro restarting setup screen, prompting for the disk. To me it looks like someone tried to repair this computer and somehow started a new windows install. They swear they didn't do anything.

Anyway, I've tried my XP Pro SP3 CD it is prompting for. It errors out. So I got their set of cd's they made from the recovery partition. It crapped out too. If there is a way, I would rather back out of the install to get it back to where it was. Is there a way to do that? To tell the system not to boot back into the setup? I looked at the boot.ini and it only shows one Windows and looks right. But... when I boot to the recovery console it does show me two windows installs.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2010, 05:54 PM
@ncient geek @ncient geek is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: US & Europe, as I like
Posts: 114
@ncient geek is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy71 View Post
Well I got a couple laptops in that were affected by the Windows update issue. Which, by the way, seems to only be a problem on computers running SecureIT. Anyway, I was able to get in and renamed the conflicting file and they both booted up. Problem is, one of them booted into the XP Pro restarting setup screen, prompting for the disk. To me it looks like someone tried to repair this computer and somehow started a new windows install. They swear they didn't do anything.

Anyway, I've tried my XP Pro SP3 CD it is prompting for. It errors out. So I got their set of cd's they made from the recovery partition. It crapped out too. If there is a way, I would rather back out of the install to get it back to where it was. Is there a way to do that? To tell the system not to boot back into the setup? I looked at the boot.ini and it only shows one Windows and looks right. But... when I boot to the recovery console it does show me two windows installs.

Any ideas?
Simply reinstall a registry snapshot prior to the date you have tried your repair install. You may have to reinstall IE and/or Mediaplayer, but that should do the trick.

__________________
Dixit Mr Murphy : No matter how many resources you have, it is never enough
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2010, 04:05 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Default

That worked, but now it's booting to a blank desktop and saying I need to activate Windows. I tell it to but all I get is the desktop and a cursor.. no icons, no taskbar, nothing. No right-click, no Windows button, no CTRL-ALT-DELETE. Nothing. And I can't boot into safe mode cause it says I need to activate and can only do so in regular mode...

I checked the userinit in the registry to make sure it read right, and it does.

Hm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2010, 06:11 AM
@ncient geek @ncient geek is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: US & Europe, as I like
Posts: 114
@ncient geek is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

You are faced with a not so frequent problem here. You will have to use the WGA reset either by deleting the WGA files or be resetting the ootimer in the registry. This will give you access to either the three day activation or the general 30 day activation from your desktop.

I would suggest another method.
Image the disk for safety, the delete the system32\drivers section and repair install. You may have to play arond a bit, but you will be able to get the system back up running again.

__________________
Dixit Mr Murphy : No matter how many resources you have, it is never enough
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2010, 09:52 AM
geeksinroute geeksinroute is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
geeksinroute is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

It seems repair install is the only option available to you. Try it this might solve your problem.
__________________
Free Technical assistance for your computer at Geeks-In-Route Land O'Lakes Florida. Call now at 866-661-4335 for computer repair
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.