Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2010, 11:07 PM
numnutz numnutz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 544
numnutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Acronis Zone OEM

Does anyone use the OEM verision of Acronis restore. That allows you to press F11 at boot and do a facory restore? I am getting an error message on a machine I am trying to install it on. OEM Zone Wasnt found (0x41C) Tag 0x89DC968EEFD84D04

Anyone see this before any help would be great, thanks
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2010, 07:45 PM
numnutz numnutz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 544
numnutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i'm the only one having problems with this
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2010, 08:04 PM
chrisaroz's Avatar
chrisaroz chrisaroz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 653
chrisaroz is on a distinguished road
Default

I use the retail True Image Home version, not OEM so I don't know if it's different. I've never encountered that error before. Are you sure you set it up correctly? You have to set the zone up first before enabling the F11 function.
__________________
Oklahoma City Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2010, 11:15 PM
numnutz numnutz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 544
numnutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

How do you like the retail version? are there many bugs? how is the tech support for the product. With OEM you have to create an xml file then you run a comman prompt script which puts the F11 option on the drive and its also suppossed to create bootable ISO files. it also gives the end user the ability to create there own ISO cds / dvds anytime later on. I just started using it but so far it seems to install 50 percent of the time with no issues and the other 50% it errors out at some point. there support for OEM is practically zero. Its either online knowledge base or pay 100 bucks per insident with no support on the weekends, very frustrating so far. The price seemed good $9.99 per license but you have to pay for 50 licenses at a time...

If been offering it so far for the most part on computers that I have repaired not brand new built machines and that might be half the problem, there may be issues on the drive that are forcing errors. Whne do you install the retail version, on new machines or old when do you see the most issues? thanks
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2010, 12:40 AM
DarDar DarDar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 614
DarDar is on a distinguished road
Default

We've got a lot of lenovo's at work and we normally use acronis as a backup tool for common builds but it doesn't seem to work on the lenovos. I'm not sure what the version is but we just switched to using clonezilla instead!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2010, 01:53 AM
Tweak's Avatar
Tweak Tweak is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,024
Tweak is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb

Although I haven't looked into the costs involved I have used and like the option Macrium offers, it does not offer the F11 option but with a bootable cd it quickly and easily restores a system and requires no installation be present (obviously since it boots and restores). It is nice to have the F11 but you become less needed by your client and IF they do make a recovery cd or you make one for them they can still restore themselves if you'd like them to have such an option. As stated I do not know the price involved but I doubt the problems would arise from it like you are having, perhaps use this option for the 50% of the time that Acronis won't work properly? Just hopeful this gives you a work around at the least until your problem can actually be solved.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2010, 04:55 AM
chrisaroz's Avatar
chrisaroz chrisaroz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 653
chrisaroz is on a distinguished road
Default

Love it. It's $30 @ Amazon. Very customizeable. I've used it for "basic" (read computer illiterate) clients as a means for me to make a custom OEM-like restore, and for advanced clients who just want the security of back-ups. I've used it to move to newer/larger hard drives, and it gives the ability to hide the secret partition, back-up weekly, or never really back-up again. I haven't had any problems yet.
__________________
Oklahoma City Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-18-2010, 05:02 AM
Tweak's Avatar
Tweak Tweak is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,024
Tweak is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisaroz View Post
Love it. It's $30 @ Amazon. Very customizeable. I've used it for "basic" (read computer illiterate) clients as a means for me to make a custom OEM-like restore, and for advanced clients who just want the security of back-ups. I've used it to move to newer/larger hard drives, and it gives the ability to hide the secret partition, back-up weekly, or never really back-up again. I haven't had any problems yet.
http://www.amazon.com/Acronis-True-I...owViewpoints=1

Seems those that tried it didn't come out very happy, and it is showing as about $40 for the 2010 version. Think I'll stick with Macrium. Business Home

Last edited by Tweak; 01-18-2010 at 05:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.