Go Back   Technibble Forums > Advertising & Marketing > Advertising, Marketing & Sales

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:03 AM
thatPC thatPC is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 60
thatPC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Multiple Domain Names

Hi guys

I have a website which is mycompany.com, however, I've also managed to pick up mytowncomputerrepair.com.

Are there any significant advantages/disadvantages in terms of SEO if I use both domain names for my site? And does having mytowncomputerrepair.com have any impact when it comes to rankings?

Thanks for your advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:18 AM
PCSupportGlasgow PCSupportGlasgow is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,257
PCSupportGlasgow will become famous soon enough
Default

depends on what the client types into their search page.

just make sure you have different wording on both sites.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:51 AM
tminer's Avatar
tminer tminer is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 267
tminer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I wouldn't host the site with both domain names with the same content on both sites. Search engines consider this as duplicate content and they frown upon it.

You could 301 redirect or forward the mytowncomputerrepair.com to point to the mycompany.com (or vice versa), this would probably be the 2nd best way.

The best way would to create two totally seperate sites with totally separate content. You could even have links between each other. These sites shouldnt be on the same ip address, preferably not even on the same host or subnet ip.


as for the mytowncomputerrepair.com it could benefit you, however the domain will be pretty long to put on advertising and emails. mine is 'whatever [at] soonercomputerservices.com' and its longer than i would really like it to be. Plus you want some name recognition, will all the other competitors out there you want the customer to remember your company name, i think we all wish that we had the name exposure of geek squad (without the bad rep of course

Last edited by tminer; 12-31-2009 at 12:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:56 AM
Ciaran Ciaran is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 76
Ciaran is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

As long as it's done right, there won't be any dissadvantages

You need your second domain to send back a 301 Moved Permanently code when accessed

http://www.webconfs.com/how-to-redirect-a-webpage.php

I find the handiest way is to add it to your htaccess file
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2010, 01:07 AM
thatPC thatPC is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 60
thatPC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks guys, I've setup the redirects correctly now according to Google's SEO advice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.