Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2009, 02:35 AM
Majestic Majestic is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 616
Majestic is on a distinguished road
Default Can you make a "custom" OEM Vista DVD?

Is it possible to make a Vista OEM DVD that accepts ALL serial #s from all manufacturers? I've already done this on Windows XP by editing the setupp.ini and deleting the oem info then slipstreaming it using nlite. That said, can we do the same on Vista?

Thanks,

Majestic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2009, 04:43 AM
Markus Markus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 111
Markus can only hope to improve
Default

Vista installs differently than XP so because of that yes. You don't even have to modify the disk. I have used a retail disk to install vista and used an OEM key to activate. So there shouldn't be any issue with installing with a Vista OEM disk and using the OEM product key from the side of the case to activate. As long as its a valid key it will activate. Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:01 AM
NickCat11's Avatar
NickCat11 NickCat11 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,324
NickCat11 is on a distinguished road
Default

You could also use Vlite which is specifically for customizing a Vista installation DVD.
__________________
Nicholas Catanoso
Garden Greenhouse and Nursery
Avalon Campground
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:45 AM
LunchBox's Avatar
LunchBox LunchBox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County, California, USA
Posts: 736
LunchBox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markus View Post
Vista installs differently than XP so because of that yes. You don't even have to modify the disk. I have used a retail disk to install vista and used an OEM key to activate. So there shouldn't be any issue with installing with a Vista OEM disk and using the OEM product key from the side of the case to activate. As long as its a valid key it will activate. Hope that helps.
That can't be correct, I used a VIsta disk with a legit license and it would not work. Of course I used a Windows Anytime Upgrade disk and installed the same version as the license.
__________________
I'll come up with the rest of the signature later.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2009, 08:19 AM
MrUnknown's Avatar
MrUnknown MrUnknown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,344
MrUnknown is on a distinguished road
Default

I've used a Vista retail disk to reinstall onto computers and used OEM licenses several times.

Maybe Anytime Upgrade licenses are different? No idea.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2009, 09:14 AM
MobileTechie's Avatar
MobileTechie MobileTechie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,347
MobileTechie has a spectacular aura aboutMobileTechie has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUnknown View Post
I've used a Vista retail disk to reinstall onto computers and used OEM licenses several times.
I did one just this weekend using my normal Vista retail disk.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2009, 02:18 PM
Majestic Majestic is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 616
Majestic is on a distinguished road
Default

The thing is I've tried with an all-in-one Vista dvd that has every manufacturer out there and it did not work. Granted that was OEM.. But the license sticker on my clients computer IS Oem (not in that list though) and after installation I tried to use magicaljellybean keychanger but it never accepts it. Gone through 4 installs already

Perhaps I do need a retail disk. This is getting confusing! I'm goiing to try with a retail and see then post back.

any more ideas?

Thanks

Majestic
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2009, 02:46 PM
MrUnknown's Avatar
MrUnknown MrUnknown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,344
MrUnknown is on a distinguished road
Default

With Vista and 7, a 9-in-1 type CD isn't needed. All versions are on one disk. Well, you need two, one for 64bit and one for 32bit.

The only advantage to OEM is the OEM software, if you even can assume that is an advantage. Well, drivers too but I almost never have issues finding drivers with Vista or 7 now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2009, 03:41 AM
Majestic Majestic is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 616
Majestic is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUnknown View Post
With Vista and 7, a 9-in-1 type CD isn't needed. All versions are on one disk. Well, you need two, one for 64bit and one for 32bit.

The only advantage to OEM is the OEM software, if you even can assume that is an advantage. Well, drivers too but I almost never have issues finding drivers with Vista or 7 now.
Well it seems the solution was to use a Retail DVD. I got an MSDN Retail Vista and the serial worked perfectly. Seems it's the OEM dvd that does not accept all serials, how ironic.

It's all worked out and I was able to update the machine.

Thanks all for your help!

Majestic
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2009, 08:13 AM
MrUnknown's Avatar
MrUnknown MrUnknown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,344
MrUnknown is on a distinguished road
Default

random thought, the OEM disks might only accept the volume keys that the OEM is supposed to use with their automated installs, while the key on the side is a full license key.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.