Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Guides, Tips and Tricks

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2007, 03:52 PM
karthickips's Avatar
karthickips karthickips is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
karthickips is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Change ip

I am using Windows XP...Can i able to change my ip settings from limited account...Or there is any software...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2007, 04:25 PM
thecoldone06's Avatar
thecoldone06 thecoldone06 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 824
thecoldone06 is on a distinguished road
Default

What do you mean from a limited account? If you network connection says limited or no connectivity, you have another problem other than changing your IP. if you are on an incorrect network with your current IP then changing it will help but other than that changing it won't help. Do you use a router? what kind? wireless or wired? need more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2007, 09:54 PM
breadtrk breadtrk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 106
breadtrk is on a distinguished road
Default

For what reason do you need to change an IP on a limited account?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2007, 10:09 PM
The Goatboy The Goatboy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 79
The Goatboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I think the question that needs to be answered first is:
Is the connection limited as 'thecoldone06' stated, or is the person really using a true 'user' account and not an admin account?

If the LAN connection is saying "limited or no connectivity", then yes the person has a bigger issue than changing the IP, althought changing the IP may resolve the 'limited or no connectivity' error (how ironic). Secondly, if the user is a "user" and not an "admin", then no I don't believe a user account has the proper privileges to change network settings.

Make sense anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2007, 10:10 PM
thecoldone06's Avatar
thecoldone06 thecoldone06 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 824
thecoldone06 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Goatboy View Post
I think the question that needs to be answered first is:
Is the connection limited as 'thecoldone06' stated, or is the person really using a true 'user' account and not an admin account?

If the LAN connection is saying "limited or no connectivity", then yes the person has a bigger issue than changing the IP, althought changing the IP may resolve the 'limited or no connectivity' error (how ironic). Secondly, if the user is a "user" and not an "admin", then no I don't believe a user account has the proper privileges to change network settings.

Make sense anyone?
makes perfect sense to me but until he answers back we'll never know!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2007, 03:23 AM
tkrabec's Avatar
tkrabec tkrabec is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indiantown
Posts: 307
tkrabec is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to tkrabec Send a message via AIM to tkrabec Send a message via MSN to tkrabec Send a message via Yahoo to tkrabec Send a message via Skype™ to tkrabec
Default

If it is DHCP, then it is simple, unplug the network cable, wait a few seconds then plug it back in. If it is not DCHP then it gets a bit tougher.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2007, 09:16 PM
Vitiated Vitiated is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 28
Vitiated is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrabec View Post
If it is DHCP, then it is simple, unplug the network cable, wait a few seconds then plug it back in. If it is not DCHP then it gets a bit tougher.
Not necessarily; DHCP often operates with a "lease" where the system is assigned an IP for a period of time. At the end of the lease, another IP address is assigned.

This is a horribly phrased question; we're going to need more details...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2007, 03:36 AM
focuz focuz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 300
focuz is on a distinguished road
Default

The "limited or no connectivity" error is a totally separate issue that wouldn't require changing your ip. If your using DHCP then the lease will hold you for normally 5 days so just resetting the connection wouldn't change it.

The only reason someone with a limited account would want to change their ip is to get onto websites that their not suppose to because of either the web host blocking their ip or because one of the admins is watching their ip.

If that is not the cause then I will need a very good story as to what the actions is.

I do believe you can however get a new ip when using dhcp by using the commands in an msdos prompt.

ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.