Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2013, 03:38 AM
Craka Craka is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 39
Craka is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Norton Family BHO and IE 9

Have a client's Windows 7 32 bit pc, that IE9 responds slowly on startup and when searching for a site, and after a few minutes of use and trying to go to another site will stop responding all together. Problem disappears when disabling addon, and have narowed it down to the Norton Family BHO of Norton Internet Security . If I enable this the problem occurs and the PC needs to be restarted in order to use IE again.

I reset winsock32, perform a reset on IE , restarted the machine and tried re enabling the Norton Family BHO but again still have the same issue.

Other than leaving it disabled has anyone encountered this and/or have a solution ?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2013, 08:08 AM
Craka Craka is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 39
Craka is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Resolved my issue,

Norton plugin for IE where as follows:

Norton Family BHO 2013.2.2.3 , Norton Vulnerability Protection 10.2.0.0 , Norton Identity Protection 2012.5.6.10 , Norton Toolbar 2012.5.6.10

Applied Norton Internet Security update, revised versions are as follow:

Norton Family BHO 2013.2.2.3 , Norton Vulnerability Protection 11.1.0.0 ,
Norton Identity Protection 2013.2.0.18 , Norton Toolbar 2013.2.0.18

Norton safe search was previously using int.search-results.com, now is using ask.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2013, 12:33 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,136
NYJimbo is just really niceNYJimbo is just really niceNYJimbo is just really niceNYJimbo is just really niceNYJimbo is just really nice
Default

Did you full scan the system ? I am pretty sure norton should not have been using int.search-results.com.

An update of norton might have cleaned up things a bit but I would still do a full combofix/mbam/etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2013, 12:07 AM
EvolutionElectronics's Avatar
EvolutionElectronics EvolutionElectronics is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 122
EvolutionElectronics is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

while you are at it i would uninstall norton completely lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.