Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2012, 12:56 AM
fooTunny's Avatar
fooTunny fooTunny is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 29
fooTunny is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Live CD That Ignores Windows Protected Files

So today I noticed that Ubuntu >10.x would not allow me to copy "windows\system32\config" due to what I am sure is some partnered code that grafts in Windows protected files. I am pretty sure this is new as Ubuntu when it first came out did not. Sooo my question, are there any distro's that anyone knows about (short of grabbing Suse and trying) that can grab Windows protected files?

fooTunny
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2012, 01:35 AM
codegreen codegreen is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,199
codegreen is a jewel in the roughcodegreen is a jewel in the roughcodegreen is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fooTunny View Post
So today I noticed that Ubuntu >10.x would not allow me to copy "windows\system32\config" due to what I am sure is some partnered code that grafts in Windows protected files.
That's an odd thing to assume. I've never had any issues copying files from NTFS using any Linux distro.
__________________

Stephen Gilbert
Code Green Technology
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2012, 01:51 AM
Bananas's Avatar
Bananas Bananas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Warwick QLD
Posts: 2
Bananas is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Maybe you're not holding your tongue right . I agree with codegreen - I've never had issues like this with any distro.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2012, 04:30 AM
compnet compnet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 757
compnet will become famous soon enough
Default

Ya I do manual system restores (copying the hive from regback or rpp to system32/config) all the time with ubuntu.. I have copies of 9.1, 10.04, 11.1, 12.04 floating around, never had an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2012, 03:37 PM
fooTunny's Avatar
fooTunny fooTunny is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 29
fooTunny is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Odd indeed then,no matter what happens, booting with the live CD will not allow me to grab that particular directory. I will give Suse a try and see how that goes.

fooTunny
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2012, 03:46 PM
nlinecomputers's Avatar
nlinecomputers nlinecomputers is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midland TX
Posts: 2,110
nlinecomputers is a jewel in the roughnlinecomputers is a jewel in the roughnlinecomputers is a jewel in the rough
Default

Being able to grab protected Windows files is part of the point for using Live CDs. Never had an issue with any of them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2012, 10:48 PM
fooTunny's Avatar
fooTunny fooTunny is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 29
fooTunny is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Aye, let me say I am not a novice, nor have I ever experienced this issue with any version of Ubuntu that was 9 or under, but this machine in all it's mystery did not allow me to copy mentioned directory which led me to post it. While I appreciate all your replies of "nope has always worked for me" I was looking for something different

Now that I know you all have never had this happen, I will just chalk this up to that "one" time it did.

fooTunny
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2012, 01:54 AM
fooTunny's Avatar
fooTunny fooTunny is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 29
fooTunny is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Solved

Ok just in case anyone else may find themselves in this predicament, I added "testdisk" and was able to grab said files. Very smart command line tool !!

fooTunny
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2012, 07:34 AM
techguy13 techguy13 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
techguy13 can only hope to improve
Default

When I run into this problem I clone the drive with Acronis and then copy the files from the image, there are no problems with permissions at all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-26-2012, 01:29 AM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

perhaps that folder and or contents are corrupted and is the reason why you need to do a reg restore in the first place?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.