Go Back   Technibble Forums > Service Solutions > Servers

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2012, 12:03 AM
justalfe's Avatar
justalfe justalfe is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: las vegas
Posts: 70
justalfe is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to justalfe
Default folder redirection not working correctly

Hey guys i have a sbs server 2011 running for a client and for some reason i cant get folder redirection to work correctly, from my understanding once you have all the folders, desktop,documents,music.etc set to relocate everything under the gpo to a share..it should allow you to log on to any computer and the users folders should come over,and currently this is not the case!

Is there anything that you guys might think that im missing thats causing this not to happen ?

do i need to also do roaming profiles?
__________________
Intellitechs Computer Repair
4200 south Valley View Las Vegas, NV 89103
702-582-6767
www.intellitechslv.com

Computer Repair Las Vegas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2012, 10:06 PM
deutschnaftula deutschnaftula is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 132
deutschnaftula is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

no you dont need also roaming profile. whats the OS?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2012, 10:15 AM
MobileTechie's Avatar
MobileTechie MobileTechie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,265
MobileTechie has a spectacular aura aboutMobileTechie has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justalfe View Post
Hey guys i have a sbs server 2011 running for a client and for some reason i cant get folder redirection to work correctly, from my understanding once you have all the folders, desktop,documents,music.etc set to relocate everything under the gpo to a share..it should allow you to log on to any computer and the users folders should come over,and currently this is not the case!

Is there anything that you guys might think that im missing thats causing this not to happen ?

do i need to also do roaming profiles?
Well being pedandic, the files don't "come over". They're just centrally stored but linked to.

Like just about everything in SBS land, you're supposed to set it in the console not manually using GPOs.

Things to check are:

1. On the desktops, fire up a command prompt as a network admin, do gpupdate /force and reboot them. Log in as network admin. Log off and then log on as the user. This ensures the GPO gets applied. You should need to do this but I've found it helps. Check the results of gpupdate if it doesn't work for clues.

2. Look at the permissions on the redirected folders (Users\Redirected Folders). The user in question has to have Full Access (and be the Owner I think).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2012, 02:54 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 7,592
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

What version of client OS?
Does it work on the initial computer you set them up on?
What folders have you specified?
Agree...flip the switch in the server manager, don't go creating a home made GPO, SBS comes with lots of pre-defined ones. You can customize folders from there on the existing GPO.


What does GPRESULT get you from the client side?
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:25 PM
Upnorth's Avatar
Upnorth Upnorth is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cumbria UK
Posts: 33
Upnorth is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Agree with what's been said earlier.

If you haven't already create a test login account with admin rights and make sure this account is clean from group policy objects.
Then I would redirect just the Documents folder and nothing else and test.
If no joy then create a new shared folder to redirect to and test again.

Basically start with the minimum needed and work up, it's amazing sometimes how very minor things can stop GPO from working properly.
Usually with trial and error procedures and checking logs you get to where the problem is.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2012, 12:53 AM
pceinc pceinc is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 745
pceinc is on a distinguished road
Default

Look at your workstation application event logs for GPO errors.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2012, 12:36 PM
RicChapman's Avatar
RicChapman RicChapman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire, England
Posts: 25
RicChapman is on a distinguished road
Default

I run quite a few of these SBS 2011 servers, typically these problems crop up if someone has been moving accounts out of the predefined OUs in Active Directory or have been playing with the permissions on the server folders and not set them back.

Even admins can't just start digging through the user directories, they need to take ownership and grant themseves access. This usually results in quite a mess and can be painstaking to put right if someone has got carried away.

Is this happening with all accounts or just the odd one or two?

There was one particular user for me which would simply would not work regardless of what I tried and resulted in deleting his AD account and starting over. Extreme but it didn't take long to have him up and running again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2012, 02:43 AM
pceinc pceinc is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 745
pceinc is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a script somewhere that will reset all user permissions on a folder to explicit for the user(owner). It basically takes ownership of the folder for the user and clears all other permissions that would allow access by another user. It was designed for home folders but I don't see why it wouldn't work for redirected folders. The folder name must match the username for it to work.
I can dig it up if your interested.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2012, 11:57 PM
drjones drjones is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 875
drjones is on a distinguished road
Default

Just my experience, if it saves even one persons' sanity;

Did a big migration for a client; new file server AND migrated from hosted to in-house exchange.

They had redirected folders setup.

Went to connect workstations to the new server and the files in the users' docs, pics, etc. were all several months old. Lots and lots of missing files & folders.

Long story short, the redirected folder/offline sync totally stopped working without any notice at all; docs were only getting cached locally on the workstation and NOT syncing to the server, even though the workstation said all was in sync, no errors were obvious on the server.

Did a ton of research to see WTF was happening and from what I recall reading, it's a known issue with Win7 where the offline file function combined with redirected folders doesn't always work very well.

That same redirected folder GPO also has caused a lot of very long boots for me & some clients.

Anyhow, we resolved it by joining the workstations back to the old server/domain and manually copying the files & folders over....because of course there's no way we could find to access that offline cache unless you were logged on as the user, joined to that old domain.

Just my experience, but I'm staying far away from redirected folders.

I'd much prefer my users to just keep everything on the server or set workstations to backup to the server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.