Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Guides, Tips and Tricks

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-28-2012, 06:38 PM
crashtech crashtech is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 89
crashtech is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Been having great fun with this, Thanks FoolishTech!

Now I need to integrate an unattended install into this method, if it's possible.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 07-02-2012, 02:35 AM
cyabro's Avatar
cyabro cyabro is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 595
cyabro is on a distinguished road
Default

Anyone know if it is possible to add the WD and Seagate Acronis versions to the menu and boot to them?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-02-2012, 10:24 AM
TLE's Avatar
TLE TLE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
TLE is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyabro View Post
Anyone know if it is possible to add the WD and Seagate Acronis versions to the menu and boot to them?
I have my Acronis Boot CD running via WDS and SysLinux and it works great.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 07-02-2012, 10:30 AM
cyabro's Avatar
cyabro cyabro is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 595
cyabro is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLE View Post
I have my Acronis Boot CD running via WDS and SysLinux and it works great.
Is that a bought/paid for Acronis?

I have my ShadowProtect IT Edition booting from the WDS server fine as that was easy. Just created another boot image and used the .wim file from the USB stick, done. Still need to run the license server though.

I want to know if it's possible to do the same with the WD or Seagate Acronis versions, they seem to be different to the bought versions.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07-02-2012, 10:40 AM
TLE's Avatar
TLE TLE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
TLE is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyabro View Post
Is that a bought/paid for Acronis?

I have my ShadowProtect IT Edition booting from the WDS server fine as that was easy. Just created another boot image and used the .wim file from the USB stick, done. Still need to run the license server though.

I want to know if it's possible to do the same with the WD or Seagate Acronis versions, they seem to be different to the bought versions.
It is indeed a bought and paid for Acronis Boot CD. Not sure about the free version from WD, as I don't think it is supposed to be used in a business enviroment as it will go against the EULA. You'll need to check that out.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 07-07-2012, 03:29 AM
Spartan PC Services's Avatar
Spartan PC Services Spartan PC Services is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 58
Spartan PC Services is on a distinguished road
Default

Awesome guide, can't wait for some spare time to try this out.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-03-2012, 12:00 PM
Eric_whitbypc Eric_whitbypc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ellesmere Port, UK
Posts: 42
Eric_whitbypc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I think this is a great idea, i've not implimented the linux menu but it got me thinking about using WDS as its a good few years since i last used it!
Its exactly what i've been looking for over the last couple of years, its much better (in our environment) than trying to clone drives / images to get systems set up with 100+ updates (xp& vista)
I've been testing this morning and with XP (home/ pro) with all updates, software pack etc installed i'm deploying to an old p4 laptop in under 15mins! Thats brilliant considering building the image on the same machine with all the updates etc took about 4 hours!
Thanks for the guide!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-21-2012, 07:03 PM
markcuk11 markcuk11 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: manchester
Posts: 162
markcuk11 will become famous soon enough
Default

I have just got this going with sbs2011. had to manually inject a driver pack into the boot.wim has the wizard kept crashing.

one thing before i do the syslinux is it easy to go back to the normal booting option ie

if i run these commands can i undo them?

Next we tell WDS to boot to Syslinux.

Server 2008 R2 and above, open an administrator command prompt, and paste in the following commands:
wdsutil /set-server /bootprogram:boot\x86\pxelinux.com /architecture:x86
wdsutil /set-server /bootprogram:boot\x64\pxelinux.com /architecture:x64
wdsutil /set-server /N12bootprogram:boot\x86\pxelinux.com /architecture:x86
wdsutil /set-server /N12bootprogram:boot\x64\pxelinux.com /architecture:x64

cheers

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-21-2012, 07:56 PM
jbartlett323 jbartlett323 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 366
jbartlett323 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markcuk11 View Post
I have just got this going with sbs2011. had to manually inject a driver pack into the boot.wim has the wizard kept crashing.

one thing before i do the syslinux is it easy to go back to the normal booting option ie

if i run these commands can i undo them?

Next we tell WDS to boot to Syslinux.

Server 2008 R2 and above, open an administrator command prompt, and paste in the following commands:
wdsutil /set-server /bootprogram:boot\x86\pxelinux.com /architecture:x86
wdsutil /set-server /bootprogram:boot\x64\pxelinux.com /architecture:x64
wdsutil /set-server /N12bootprogram:boot\x86\pxelinux.com /architecture:x86
wdsutil /set-server /N12bootprogram:boot\x64\pxelinux.com /architecture:x64

cheers

Mark
Definitely by removing and reinstalling WDS... pretty sure you can run the same command and just point it at the original PXE boot file too, but dont quote me on that, i removed and reinstalled!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-21-2012, 08:14 PM
markcuk11 markcuk11 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: manchester
Posts: 162
markcuk11 will become famous soon enough
Default

thanks for the reply but i think i found the answer

These are the default boot programs:

wdsutil /set-server /bootprogram:boot\x86\pxeboot.com /architecture:x86
wdsutil /set-server /N12bootprogram:boot\x86\pxeboot.n12 /architecture:x86
wdsutil /set-server /bootprogram:boot\x64\pxeboot.com /architecture:x64
wdsutil /set-server /N12bootprogram:boot\x64\pxeboot.n12 /architecture:x64

found from here http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...9-818f2fbefe38
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.