Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Software Applications

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:11 PM
paristotle's Avatar
paristotle paristotle is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 163
paristotle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Live imaging software for RAID 5

What do you guys use to image a raid 5 array without downing the computer? My imaging process usually involves my booting with a live disk and imaging from there.

I have two mission critical servers that can't be shutdown. I need to image them while they are up. Let's get Acronis out of the way right away because it's cost is prohibitive.

My guess is that since Windows server sees the disk as a single volume I can use a few different imaging tools without issue.

The other idea is to use P2V and image it to a VM that I can restore to another server. The idea here is the greatest amount of fault tolerance at a the lowest price.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2012, 04:10 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 7,915
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Is this something you want automated....on a regular basis, such as with a nightly backup? or just a "once every couple of months" thing?

StorageCraft would be my first "go to" product.
Paragon Software makes another excellent product.
NovaStor yet another.

If this is a virtualized server...you have your manual methods right there!
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2012, 09:01 PM
paristotle's Avatar
paristotle paristotle is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 163
paristotle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

No, there is no automation required. I will check out the software you suggested and see what makes a good fit. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.