Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2012, 04:11 AM
Asrial Asrial is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 166
Asrial is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Modifying Windows Vista/7 Startup Repair Area

How do you modify the Startup Repair area for Windows Vista/7?

Specifically...

I wiped the C drive and installed Vista fresh and want to re-add the ability to access the Dell Recovery program through Startup Repair.

Further...

How do you add the Startup Repair area period? It's prompting to use the Windows install DVD.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2012, 12:57 PM
coffee's Avatar
coffee coffee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA, Indiana
Posts: 1,666
coffee has a spectacular aura aboutcoffee has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to coffee
Default

I assume you wiped the whole hard drive when you said you wiped out the C drive. Most companies put their stuff on a partition seperate from windows. If you wiped this out then its gone. Perhaps find a drive with the manufactuer install on it and copy the partition over to where the old one was??
__________________

www.renuecomputers.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2012, 03:51 PM
Xander's Avatar
Xander Xander is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Niagara region, Ontario
Posts: 6,796
Xander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really nice
Default

It was likely a customized/branded version of those files that you've wiped.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2012, 05:28 PM
Asrial Asrial is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 166
Asrial is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xander View Post
It was likely a customized/branded version of those files that you've wiped.
Yes.

Any idea where the files are located?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2012, 01:52 PM
Rosco's Avatar
Rosco Rosco is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 1,833
Rosco is on a distinguished road
Default

if there is no D: drive anymore you are out of luck.

restoredisks.com is a good option for recovery media.
__________________

There's no place like 127.0.0.1
C:\WINDOWS C:\WINDOWS\GO C:\PC\CRAWL
Nibbler for life
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2012, 05:54 PM
Asrial Asrial is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 166
Asrial is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Let me clarify...

The recovery partition is still there.

This is a Dell. Dell has it setup (and others are following suit) that when you do F8 and go to REPAIR MY COMPUTER one of the options will be to initiate the Dell recovery program.

I wiped drive C clean to install just the operating system. This nukes that option. Further, it nukes the entire REPAIR MY COMPUTER area. I have to boot to it from a recovery CD, at which point I have to go to the command prompt and manually run the recovery program on the recovery partition.

Does anyone know how to modify the REPAIR MY COMPUTER area so that I can...

1) Add/Remove commands (specifically I want to add the Dell option back).

2) Return it to being built-in and not requiring the recovery CD.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2012, 12:14 AM
numnutz numnutz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
numnutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Sorry long day I'm not following you 100%. The recovery partition is still there? So if you boot to the Dell manufacture restore partition and put back the original image will the repair my computer option come back? Not sure what you were trying to accomplish by wiping the c drive and installing just the OS?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.