Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Hardware

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2012, 12:21 PM
Paul Rodgers Paul Rodgers is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,032
Paul Rodgers will become famous soon enough
Default Need a good bluetooth KB/Mouse

Looking for recommendations on a good bluetooth keyboard and mouse for office use.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2012, 12:34 PM
FoolishTech's Avatar
FoolishTech FoolishTech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manteo, NC (USA)
Posts: 2,756
FoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

Does it have to be bluetooth? I haven't actually seen any BT combos in stores, though I'm sure they exist especially on the internets...

I picked up a super sweet MS KBD/MSE combo at Sams Club not long ago that is RF instead of IR. Thing has a good 30ft range and, well, it's RF so it just works no matter what is in the way. It even remembers my function lock setting so I can use the function key shortcuts the way God intended, not for those crappy 'start MS word' macros and junk.
__________________


Author of d7 & d7II, and TONS of other FREE PC technician's tools. www.FoolishIT.com

Author of CryptoPrevent - Crypto/Malware prevention for any OS.

Latest free tool: dBug - Neutralize malware preventing you from running removal tools.

NEW d7II single technician pricing!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2012, 12:38 PM
Paul Rodgers Paul Rodgers is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,032
Paul Rodgers will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoolishTech View Post
Does it have to be bluetooth? I haven't actually seen any BT combos in stores, though I'm sure they exist especially on the internets...

I picked up a super sweet MS KBD/MSE combo at Sams Club not long ago that is RF instead of IR. Thing has a good 30ft range and, well, it's RF so it just works no matter what is in the way. It even remembers my function lock setting so I can use the function key shortcuts the way God intended, not for those crappy 'start MS word' macros and junk.
I actually have one of the Microsoft ones and while I do love it, I would much rather not utilize a USB port on my laptop for the receiver. It doesn't even have to be a combo. I'm just looking for a solid setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2012, 01:01 PM
FoolishTech's Avatar
FoolishTech FoolishTech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manteo, NC (USA)
Posts: 2,756
FoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Rodgers View Post
I actually have one of the Microsoft ones and while I do love it, I would much rather not utilize a USB port on my laptop for the receiver. It doesn't even have to be a combo. I'm just looking for a solid setup.
Ahh, for a laptop. Yes I would want BT as well instead of working with a USB plug...

I also use a laptop primarily, but currently my setup is that I also have a desktop computer at my office, and when I plop down the laptop on my desk every morning I use Input Director (software KVM, installed as master on my desktop and slave mode on my laptop) so that I can use my desktop keyboard/mouse with the laptop without having to plug anything in. Don't know if you have a desktop PC in your office but there's an option for ya without spending any money....

Which reminds me, I need to find a good BT headset/mic for my laptop though.
__________________


Author of d7 & d7II, and TONS of other FREE PC technician's tools. www.FoolishIT.com

Author of CryptoPrevent - Crypto/Malware prevention for any OS.

Latest free tool: dBug - Neutralize malware preventing you from running removal tools.

NEW d7II single technician pricing!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2012, 01:19 PM
Paul Rodgers Paul Rodgers is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,032
Paul Rodgers will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoolishTech View Post
Which reminds me, I need to find a good BT headset/mic for my laptop though.
If you have a headset for your cell phone you could use it for your laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2012, 01:49 PM
FoolishTech's Avatar
FoolishTech FoolishTech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manteo, NC (USA)
Posts: 2,756
FoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Rodgers View Post
If you have a headset for your cell phone you could use it for your laptop.
I don't well I had one but it was the ear piece only thingie. I would definitely like a full headset with mic on a boom arm next time.
__________________


Author of d7 & d7II, and TONS of other FREE PC technician's tools. www.FoolishIT.com

Author of CryptoPrevent - Crypto/Malware prevention for any OS.

Latest free tool: dBug - Neutralize malware preventing you from running removal tools.

NEW d7II single technician pricing!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2012, 02:29 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

They're not a current product anymore, but I love the Microsoft Bluetooth Elite keyboard and mouse combo. If you can find them new, in box it's a good set... Though I got mine about ten years ago, so it may be very difficult to find
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2012, 02:56 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 7,853
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Microsoft keyboards my first choice.
Logitech keyboards my second choice...as well as first choice for mice.

I never install their software (especially Logitechs), native OS drivers do the mice 'n keyboards fine...although granted I don't use the custom keys.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.