Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Hardware

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-10-2012, 01:03 AM
stick1977's Avatar
stick1977 stick1977 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 134
stick1977 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

My onsite tech got lucky, the server is out of warranty but he found someone at Dell that talked to him for free, yes very lucky. Did I say or imply SATA? Sorry if I did, they're SAS drives. We're trying to get one straight away so as to expedite this recovery, if possible. But from listening to npinc, we'd better get four right away not just one. Thank you for your reply.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-10-2012, 01:54 AM
npinc npinc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
npinc can only hope to improve
Default

Well, there's a reason I asked that. We just ran into it with an HP. BTW, I knew they were SAS drives, it's all good.

Anyways, the hardware was saying the drive was bad, the drive was bad, blah blah blah. Turned out there was nothing wrong with the drive. The backplane was faulty. Take the drive and put it on another port. I wouldn't be surprised if it shows normal. Don't forget, those are 1.2M hour drives.

We also saw this happen in a Dell not that long ago.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-10-2012, 10:07 AM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 7,918
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stick1977 View Post
Did I say or imply SATA? Sorry if I did, they're SAS drives. .
Was going by "Barracuda 500 gig".....either SATA or "midline SAS" (kind of a half breed).
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-10-2012, 04:44 PM
lcoughey's Avatar
lcoughey lcoughey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 860
lcoughey has a spectacular aura aboutlcoughey has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to lcoughey Send a message via Skype™ to lcoughey
Default

Just note. There are two reasons why we are unable to recover data from a RAID.

1. The drives are damaged beyond recovery
2. The technician and/or client destroys any chance of recovery

So, before you do anything, be sure to get a full sector-by-sector clone of each drive...including the two that failed. Then recover the data from the clones.

If you ever have any questions about an issue and are unsure of the safest course of action, you are always welcome to call me and I can can advise.

Whatever you do, don't spend a day or two fighting with it first. Yes, you might get lucky, but the odds are, you won't. This is no time to gamble.

Luke
__________________


Data Recovery Specialists | Phone Support | Re-Seller Discounts
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.