Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2012, 03:11 AM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default Computer reboots on powersaving mode

Hello all. thanks for reading this.

I have a Dell SX280 USFF pc that reboots when the monitor turns off (or so I think). The system is set to never sleep/hibernate. I have replaced the motherboard and CPU (mobo that replaced it just had fresh caps installed), ran Memtest overnight, gsmart checked the drive in an extended pass.

I removed all items from startup besides MSE and LogMeIn. I also Upgraded the graphics driver as well, but it still reboots. The computer will not reboot while it is being used, it only reboots if it sits for more than 5 min.

I would like to avoid N&P this pc.

My only thought would be to remove logmein and see it if still happens. Any ideas are welcome. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2012, 12:40 PM
FoolishTech's Avatar
FoolishTech FoolishTech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manteo, NC (USA)
Posts: 2,757
FoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

Did the problem start before or after you replaced the motherboard? You replaced it with a refurb board? Hmm... Sounds like a board or vga issue to me or other hardware, but surely not software. I would start with flashing the BIOS and clearing CMOS, then disable/fiddle with power settings in the BIOS.
__________________


Author of d7 & d7II, and TONS of other FREE PC technician's tools. www.FoolishIT.com

Author of CryptoPrevent - Crypto/Malware prevention for any OS.

Latest free tool: dBug - Neutralize malware preventing you from running removal tools.

NEW d7II single technician pricing!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2012, 04:34 PM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

This started before I swapped out the motherboard. These PCs have a tendency to pop their caps, so I have an extra pc and swap them out every 8 months or so. When I do that, I replace any caps that look iffy. Another note, I ran parted magic on it overnight and it did not reboot.

Sorry, it is running windows XP Pro SP3.
EDIT: Removed Logmein, replaced PSU, still reboots

Last edited by Rob_NNCC; 07-05-2012 at 05:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2012, 05:59 PM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

Figured it out. Thanks Foolish for your input. Turns out the screen saver was corrupt. If I previewed the screensaver the pc would reboot within seconds. I switched to a different screen saver, and it has not rebooted yet.

Thanks again to anyone who read this/contributed ideas! (Foolish!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2012, 06:51 PM
FoolishTech's Avatar
FoolishTech FoolishTech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manteo, NC (USA)
Posts: 2,757
FoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

Now THAT is one I haven't heard of. Wow, glad you got it resolved!
__________________


Author of d7 & d7II, and TONS of other FREE PC technician's tools. www.FoolishIT.com

Author of CryptoPrevent - Crypto/Malware prevention for any OS.

Latest free tool: dBug - Neutralize malware preventing you from running removal tools.

NEW d7II single technician pricing!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2012, 07:54 PM
ComputerRepairTech's Avatar
ComputerRepairTech ComputerRepairTech is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 2,057
ComputerRepairTech is a jewel in the roughComputerRepairTech is a jewel in the roughComputerRepairTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

2nded...have never seen that one before. Now a screen saver causing a bluescreen that rebooted the PC i've seen but not one that just rebooted.
__________________
Computer Repair Tech
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2012, 08:02 PM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks! It was a new one for me too, and I was pretty much out of ideas.

Last edited by Rob_NNCC; 07-06-2012 at 12:54 AM. Reason: it came off wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.