Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Hardware

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2012, 09:20 AM
RegEdit RegEdit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pacific Palisades, CA
Posts: 1,723
RegEdit is on a distinguished road
Default Why do SATA drives still have cable select?

Why do SATA drives still have cable select? I'm guessing that they allow you to use an IDE to SATA adapter to connect the drive to an older motherboard that still runs IDE drives?

And if you add a jumper to that cable select when using the drive strictly as a SATA drive does it have any effect?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2012, 09:42 AM
Ccomp5950's Avatar
Ccomp5950 Ccomp5950 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marshall, Texas
Posts: 889
Ccomp5950 will become famous soon enough
Default

One pair of pins is used for limiting to 1.5gb/s transmissions with a dip switch style selector.

The other pair are used for a serial connection to directly communicate with the firmware of the device.
__________________
Marshall Texas Computer repair
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2012, 10:55 AM
RegEdit RegEdit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pacific Palisades, CA
Posts: 1,723
RegEdit is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ccomp5950 View Post
One pair of pins is used for limiting to 1.5gb/s transmissions with a dip switch style selector.

The other pair are used for a serial connection to directly communicate with the firmware of the device.
So that's not even an IDE cable select location for jumpers (to the right)?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2012, 12:16 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,312
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RegEdit View Post
So that's not even an IDE cable select location for jumpers (to the right)?
No, it's not cable select.

Quote:
I'm guessing that they allow you to use an IDE to SATA adapter to connect the drive to an older motherboard that still runs IDE drives?
The jumpers for that would be on the adapter, if necessary
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.