Go Back   Technibble Forums > Service Solutions > Remote Support

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:14 AM
AlphaCS's Avatar
AlphaCS AlphaCS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 181
AlphaCS is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Simple Help

Okay its been mentioned in a few threads here and there but I after some more info. Who is using it? How do you like it? Would you go another route if you could do it again? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2011, 03:11 AM
AlphaCS's Avatar
AlphaCS AlphaCS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 181
AlphaCS is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Hmm no reply. Does anyone want to help out? Go to simple-help.com and download the software. Its a very lite client. See if you are able to connect outside of your network. Im having no luck....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2011, 03:41 AM
allanc allanc is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeedlessOne View Post
Hmm no reply. Does anyone want to help out? Go to simple-help.com and download the software. Its a very lite client. See if you are able to connect outside of your network. Im having no luck....
We are using it.
It has some bugs (doesn't all software?).
Even knowing what I know now, I would purchase it again.
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2011, 04:02 AM
allanc allanc is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeedlessOne View Post
Hmm no reply. Does anyone want to help out? Go to simple-help.com and download the software. Its a very lite client. See if you are able to connect outside of your network. Im having no luck....
Maybe a simple question but are you running the server portion?
If so, where, what platform, etc?
Do you have a static IP?
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2011, 04:06 AM
AlphaCS's Avatar
AlphaCS AlphaCS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 181
AlphaCS is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Im running it on a windows 7 pro machine. I do have a static IP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2011, 04:08 AM
allanc allanc is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeedlessOne View Post
Im running it on a windows 7 pro machine. I do have a static IP
What type of message are you getting on the client side?

Also, check the ports that the server is using compared to the client.
Again, check that the port settings in the admin tab match up with the URLs (see below).

EDIT: For example, my client hyperlink is http://proven-solutions.dyndns.org:8088/
My tech hyperlink is http://proven-solutions.dyndns.org:8088/tech
Firewall issues on either the server or client computers?
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto

Last edited by allanc; 03-17-2011 at 04:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2012, 02:53 AM
MichaelsComputerServices MichaelsComputerServices is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 159
MichaelsComputerServices is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I use Simple Help all the time and would never think about changing. I have had no problems and it has always performed flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2012, 04:35 AM
AlaDes's Avatar
AlaDes AlaDes is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: White Sulphur Springs, WV
Posts: 441
AlaDes is on a distinguished road
Default

I have used Simple-Help in the past but have opted to start using ScreenConnect instead. Both are nearly identical in the way they work and I love the simplicity for the EU. The only regret I have is that I didn't purchase SC first; Not because one is better than the other but because I prefer to support my fellow technicians when I can.

One major advantage of SC over SH is if you decide to grow your business and ever need an unlimited license. Also, if you are an ACBRO member (paid member or not), you qualify for a discount and with SH you don't.

I also use Teamviewer as well because of the simplicity for myself and the ability to work on multiple PCs without having to connect and disconnect when switching from one client to another. Once I'm connected to a client's machine using SC, I then install Teamviewer. I find that each of these remote tools compliment one another very well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2012, 09:15 PM
PCSupportGlasgow PCSupportGlasgow is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,233
PCSupportGlasgow will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaDes View Post
Not because one is better than the other but because I prefer to support my fellow technicians when I can.
huh? what fellow technician you supporting? both are software companies with one choosing to advertize on here

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaDes View Post
One major advantage of SC over SH is if you decide to grow your business and ever need an unlimited license. Also, if you are an ACBRO member (paid member or not), you qualify for a discount and with SH you don't.
If going for unlimited i dont think i would chose either TBH

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaDes View Post
I also use Teamviewer as well because of the simplicity for myself and the ability to work on multiple PCs without having to connect and disconnect when switching from one client to another. Once I'm connected to a client's machine using SC, I then install Teamviewer. I find that each of these remote tools compliment one another very well.
WHY??? simple-help/screen connect/teamviewer can all be installed as service i struggle to understand why log into client with 1 solution then install another.


As for OP best to think of simple-help as that trusted old beatup truck. it may not be the fastest or flavour of the month but but when all else spluttering to a halt it will plod along to the finish.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2012, 02:59 AM
eliforp eliforp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Idaho US
Posts: 46
eliforp is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I use SH in my shop and cannot say as I have a problem with it! I have it on a win7 box with a static ip and a url pointing to that IP. All of my clients have it as a favorite and I load the client where needed. Over all I have to say between the price and usability I would choose nothing else It always works for me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.