Go Back   Technibble Forums > Service Solutions > Servers

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2012, 08:48 PM
mikesit's Avatar
mikesit mikesit is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 167
mikesit is an unknown quantity at this point
Default SBS 2011 Essentials...with Full SQL?

Can full SQL be installed on SBS 2011 Essentials?

Thanks in advance
__________________
Mike Baker
Mike's IT Solutions
636-359-7449

mike@mikesitsolutions.com
http://mikesitsolutions.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2012, 09:45 PM
oldtech oldtech is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 378
oldtech will become famous soon enough
Default

Kind of at a loss for why you couldn't find this but *shrug*

http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/prod..._overview.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2012, 05:54 PM
mikesit's Avatar
mikesit mikesit is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 167
mikesit is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Looks like a Prem add-on, so to answer my question, the answer is no.

Thanks for the link
__________________
Mike Baker
Mike's IT Solutions
636-359-7449

mike@mikesitsolutions.com
http://mikesitsolutions.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2012, 07:59 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 7,656
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesit View Post
Looks like a Prem add-on, so to answer my question, the answer is no.

Thanks for the link
Answer is "Yes"...at least it should be, as you could install full SQL on SBS2008 St and SBS 2003 Standard. Essentials basically just drops Exchange. Essentials still comes with SQL Express. It's just more economical to purchase SBS Premium if you need full SQL. You typically install SQL Full on the second instance of Server 08 you get with SBS Premium....instead of installing it on the first main box that already has SQL Express for SBS monitoring stuff. As installing full SQL on top of/next to SQL Express can be a handful to keep SQL management studio squared away.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2012, 11:13 PM
mikesit's Avatar
mikesit mikesit is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 167
mikesit is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

correct the answer is yes, but like your statement points out in regard to properly setting up a client the answer yes would be not be recommended.

Thanks for the comments as always.
__________________
Mike Baker
Mike's IT Solutions
636-359-7449

mike@mikesitsolutions.com
http://mikesitsolutions.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.