Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2012, 11:52 PM
roborobs computer repair's Avatar
roborobs computer repair roborobs computer repair is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 286
roborobs computer repair is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to roborobs computer repair Send a message via Skype™ to roborobs computer repair
Default Weird problem with laptop. - Clock problem

Hey guys,

I have an odd problem with a laptop. For some reason the clock keeps getting a half an hour slow and I'm not sure what could be causing it. Checked for viruses and nothing shows, checked the synchronization and it is setup correctly. Any ideas what could cause this?
__________________
Robert Tucker
Roborob's Computer Repair
www.roborobscomputers.com
Quote:
"Failure is not an option." John F. Kennedy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2012, 12:35 AM
16k_zx81's Avatar
16k_zx81 16k_zx81 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,808
16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roborobs computer repair View Post
Hey guys,

I have an odd problem with a laptop. For some reason the clock keeps getting a half an hour slow and I'm not sure what could be causing it. Checked for viruses and nothing shows, checked the synchronization and it is setup correctly. Any ideas what could cause this?
What time zone is the clock set to?

Is it set to sync with internet time?

..
__________________
"Do something you love, and you'll never work a day in your life"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2012, 01:05 AM
roborobs computer repair's Avatar
roborobs computer repair roborobs computer repair is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 286
roborobs computer repair is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to roborobs computer repair Send a message via Skype™ to roborobs computer repair
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 16k_zx81 View Post
What time zone is the clock set to?

Is it set to sync with internet time?

..
Eastern standard Time and yes it is set to sync to time.windows.com
__________________
Robert Tucker
Roborob's Computer Repair
www.roborobscomputers.com
Quote:
"Failure is not an option." John F. Kennedy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2012, 09:46 AM
frodo7200's Avatar
frodo7200 frodo7200 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Norfolk,UK
Posts: 59
frodo7200 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

is it always half an hour or does it get more out over time? not had this on a laptop but have on old pc's and it was the cmos battery.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2012, 12:00 PM
tim fitzgerald's Avatar
tim fitzgerald tim fitzgerald is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: North Carolina USA
Posts: 291
tim fitzgerald is on a distinguished road
Default

Replace the cmos battery. I agree with frodo. I've seen really weird problems with a dying cmos battery not just time and date.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2012, 01:19 PM
roborobs computer repair's Avatar
roborobs computer repair roborobs computer repair is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 286
roborobs computer repair is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to roborobs computer repair Send a message via Skype™ to roborobs computer repair
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim fitzgerald View Post
Replace the cmos battery. I agree with frodo. I've seen really weird problems with a dying cmos battery not just time and date.
Quote:
Originally Posted by frodo7200 View Post
is it always half an hour or does it get more out over time? not had this on a laptop but have on old pc's and it was the cmos battery.
it really is weird the slowest it gets is half an hour - currently it is only 4 mins slow. As far as I know a laptop does not have a cmos battery.
__________________
Robert Tucker
Roborob's Computer Repair
www.roborobscomputers.com
Quote:
"Failure is not an option." John F. Kennedy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2012, 01:26 PM
Cadishead Computers's Avatar
Cadishead Computers Cadishead Computers is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 3,948
Cadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the rough
Default

Some Lappies do have a cmos battery. I had a Compaq cq61 in yesterday for a screen replacement.

In doing this screen, the laptop had to be partly dismantled, what did I find?, yup a cmos battery.
__________________
Hope this helps
Be Safe

Nige
Cadishead Computers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2012, 01:47 PM
roborobs computer repair's Avatar
roborobs computer repair roborobs computer repair is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 286
roborobs computer repair is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to roborobs computer repair Send a message via Skype™ to roborobs computer repair
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadishead Computers View Post
Some Lappies do have a cmos battery. I had a Compaq cq61 in yesterday for a screen replacement.

In doing this screen, the laptop had to be partly dismantled, what did I find?, yup a cmos battery.
That is a fairly old machine - this laptop is a Toshiba Satelite that is about 3 years old.
__________________
Robert Tucker
Roborob's Computer Repair
www.roborobscomputers.com
Quote:
"Failure is not an option." John F. Kennedy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2012, 01:55 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,428
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roborobs computer repair View Post
As far as I know a laptop does not have a cmos battery.
ALL laptops have cmos batteries. Some are cells you can replace, others are rechargeable (usually managanese lithium). Some are soldered others are connected by a short cable and some are in the more familiar coincell-holder.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2012, 03:09 PM
frodo7200's Avatar
frodo7200 frodo7200 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Norfolk,UK
Posts: 59
frodo7200 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

yep, there'll be a battery of some sort in there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.