Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Hardware

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-21-2012, 12:09 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 8,090
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustynails87 View Post

why not raid 1 for OS then raid 5 for data
It's your wallet...but IMO going crazy on RAID with a "home" server running a "desktop OS"....that's not a "Server" in my opinion. It's a fancy desktop. What RAID controller will you be using? Is RAID 5 even an option?

RAID 5 is good for read speed, slower for write speed. If your wallet is bottomless...go for RAID 10....great performance in both read and write.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:50 PM
rustynails87 rustynails87 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 23
rustynails87 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Set Me UP!!!

What up guys,

I know what I want now. I will be running an Adaptec 6805 raid card running raid 1 with 2 ssd's for OS partition and then 3+ hdd's in raid 5 for my storage partition.

My question to you guys is:

Can you guys tell me what hardware would go good with my adaptec raid card?

I need a Motherboard that will most likely NEVER die that supports PCIe 8x for the card. Also a CPU to match up.

I will also need suggestions on HDD's and SSD's.

I will be running windows 7 Prof. x64.

I am not looking to get too crazy.

Thanks lots.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:52 PM
Slaters Kustum Machines's Avatar
Slaters Kustum Machines Slaters Kustum Machines is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,192
Slaters Kustum Machines is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustynails87 View Post
What up guys,

I know what I want now. I will be running an Adaptec 6805 raid card running raid 1 with 2 ssd's for OS partition and then 3+ hdd's in raid 5 for my storage partition.

My question to you guys is:

Can you guys tell me what hardware would go good with my adaptec raid card?

I need a Motherboard that will most likely NEVER die that supports PCIe 8x for the card. Also a CPU to match up.

I will also need suggestions on HDD's and SSD's.

I will be running windows 7 Prof. x64.

I am not looking to get too crazy.

Thanks lots.
Wait, what? Not looking to get too crazy yet you want two SSD's and a RAID 5 setup for a desktop machine? This doesn't add up. What will this machine be used for?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-22-2012, 03:01 PM
FoolishTech's Avatar
FoolishTech FoolishTech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manteo, NC (USA)
Posts: 2,757
FoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaters Kustum Machines View Post
Wait, what? Not looking to get too crazy yet you want two SSD's and a RAID 5 setup for a desktop machine? This doesn't add up. What will this machine be used for?
Sounds to me like it will be used for ... getting crazy
__________________


Author of d7 & d7II, and TONS of other FREE PC technician's tools. www.FoolishIT.com

Author of CryptoPrevent - Crypto/Malware prevention for any OS.

Latest free tool: dBug - Neutralize malware preventing you from running removal tools.

NEW d7II single technician pricing!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-22-2012, 03:25 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 8,090
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

What is the "goal" for this computer?
Gaming?
Storage?
Being used as a local workstation...video editing, whatever.

I ask...because, video card options, sound card, onboard peripheral ports and storage interfaces.

Personally, assuming it's more of a "server" unit...I'd look at Asus Workstation Series motherboards, some Supermicro boards, and Intel workstation boards.

Combine with a high quality power supply like a Seasonic, some Crucial RAM selected specifically for that motherboard.

Use some Intel SSD units and get some WD RE4 drives or Seagate ES Constellation series drives, plug it all into an APC SU750 or SU1000 battery UPS...and you'll have a good long lasting stable unit.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-22-2012, 04:04 PM
altrenda altrenda is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So California
Posts: 1,769
altrenda is a jewel in the roughaltrenda is a jewel in the roughaltrenda is a jewel in the roughaltrenda is a jewel in the rough
Default

This is still for your Home file server?
Are their any business applications for this build, or is it strictly for home use?

As stated above, the intended use will make it easier to decide the best hardware.
__________________
When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
Sherlock Holmes
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-22-2012, 04:10 PM
angry_geek's Avatar
angry_geek angry_geek is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: herrin, il
Posts: 2,798
angry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to angry_geek
Default

I'm counting $600 at least just in hdd. For the rest of the machine, $1,000.

Why?

Even if you're needing a server for practice or in-house production, I don't see this being feasible. Especially with the OS you've chosen. If I may ask, do you just have a bunch of cash to burn? If not, why not get yourself an Optiplex from the Dell outlet and put some money toward advertising or real-world business needs? We all salivate at the thought of crazy hardware, just as we do when we get passed on the highway by a Maserati. However, we just keep on going after the thought passes.
__________________
Loring Preston
The Computer Doctor
Email Me

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-22-2012, 04:18 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,707
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by angry_geek View Post
I'm counting $600 at least just in hdd. For the rest of the machine, $1,000.

Why?

Even if you're needing a server for practice or in-house production, I don't see this being feasible. Especially with the OS you've chosen. If I may ask, do you just have a bunch of cash to burn? If not, why not get yourself an Optiplex from the Dell outlet and put some money toward advertising or real-world business needs? We all salivate at the thought of crazy hardware, just as we do when we get passed on the highway by a Maserati. However, we just keep on going after the thought passes.
Good advice, justify your needs. There is always something that needs money just work out what it is. My two workshop workstations do what I want and cost 200 each.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-22-2012, 04:22 PM
rustynails87 rustynails87 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 23
rustynails87 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I will be using this computer/server for mainly storage/backups

I will be streaming to the TV my video's and my music/movies to other computers.

It will basically be a media computer.


I need something that will be reliable and will last a very long time.

Well what do you guys have for RAID setups? Am I going at this in the wrong direction?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-22-2012, 04:26 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,707
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustynails87 View Post
I will be using this computer/server for mainly storage/backups

I will be streaming to the TV my video's and my music/movies to other computers.

It will basically be a media computer.


I need something that will be reliable and will last a very long time.

Well what do you guys have for RAID setups? Am I going at this in the wrong direction?
Ah we're businessmen and have our business hats on not our end user hat.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.