Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Hardware

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2012, 05:09 PM
AtYourService AtYourService is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 910
AtYourService will become famous soon enough
Default Vostro 330 All-in-one - no power

first off let me say , what a pain in the ass to take one apart

customer brought it in with power issues, stone cold dead.
took it apart ot check out the power supply to see if I could maybe try another spare i had kicking around. its got a 130watt power supply with just a P1 - 4-pin power connector to the mainboard. So i have no way of knowing if its the power supply or the mainboard not working, tried just using multimeter to the P1 and got nothing. anyone ever run across one of these before?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2012, 07:39 PM
Encrypted Existence Encrypted Existence is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,239
Encrypted Existence is on a distinguished road
Default

You need a PSU tester that is capable of testing just the four pin connector shown in the pic (assuming you don't have one). Also, can't you just use the four pin from a PSU that you have laying around for testing? As long as the voltage is the same on both PSUs, you should have no issues using one of a higher wattage for testing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2012, 07:50 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,419
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Is that the 0T9002 PSU ? ( Dell Numbers : H109R, Y664P, CPB09-007A, HP-D1301E001LF, or 0T9002 ?)

I just did an Inspiron One with the 4pin only and replaced the PSU and that was it. If you cannot detect ANY power to the mobo and you tested the switch for continuity on close then its almost certainly the PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2012, 08:01 PM
Encrypted Existence Encrypted Existence is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,239
Encrypted Existence is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYJimbo View Post
If you cannot detect ANY power to the mobo and you tested the switch for continuity on close then its almost certainly the PSU.
Are you referring to using a multimeter to test the pins on the power connecter for continuity when toggling the switch on the PSU on and off? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2012, 08:08 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,419
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trusted IT Solutions View Post
Are you referring to using a multimeter to test the pins on the power connecter for continuity when toggling the switch on the PSU on and off? Thanks.
No, I am just asking if the power on button was checked to be sure that was not it. If they cant test power on the board then at least be sure the power button is completing circuit.

I think this is a 19v psu so I dont think a 4pin from a standard PSU will work, also not sure of the polarity even if the connectors are keyed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2012, 08:19 PM
Encrypted Existence Encrypted Existence is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,239
Encrypted Existence is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYJimbo View Post
No, I am just asking if the power on button was checked to be sure that was not it. If they cant test power on the board then at least be sure the power button is completing circuit.

I think this is a 19v psu so I dont think a 4pin from a standard PSU will work, also not sure of the polarity even if the connectors are keyed.
Thanks..................................
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2012, 01:56 PM
AtYourService AtYourService is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 910
AtYourService will become famous soon enough
Default

sorry for the delay in responding, yea the power supply takes ac in and 19v out so a normal power supply wouldnt work nor would the power supply tester, tried a multimeter for any current and there was none, checked the power button seemed fine. I ended up just saying screw it and ordering another power supply , if im wrong ill bite the shipping costs

also dell didn't have a replacement part for this, had to find someone on fleabay
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2012, 07:36 PM
AtYourService AtYourService is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 910
AtYourService will become famous soon enough
Default

blah back to square one, got a replacement power supply in and nada, i have no idea how to check the power output , its 4 wires only to the motherboard,2 black , 2 yellow, tried testing black to yellow and get no readings on either the old or new power supply
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2012, 07:47 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,419
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtYourService View Post
blah back to square one, got a replacement power supply in and nada, i have no idea how to check the power output , its 4 wires only to the motherboard,2 black , 2 yellow, tried testing black to yellow and get no readings on either the old or new power supply
I got ask.... are you using the customers AC power cord or a known good one ? I am going to start a different thread about a device I use sometimes for weird power issues.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2012, 05:50 PM
AtYourService AtYourService is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 910
AtYourService will become famous soon enough
Default

using my own one, just a regular power cord
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.