Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2012, 06:01 PM
andveg38's Avatar
andveg38 andveg38 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
andveg38 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Can't access Windows repair

I've been working on this since yesterday with not much progress. Any and all help will be appreciated.

Got a Toshiba laptop dropped off today that was only giving me the blackscreen with a mouse cursor. I can't access repair even though I can select it. That is by pressing F8 and also using a Windows disk. Safe-mode doesn't work, last good config...all start windows and then the blackscreen. The cust claims she hasn't installed anything and just turned it off the night before and now it's happening.

I made it bluescreen and got an error code of "unmountable boot volume". My Windows disks can't pull up Startup Repair or load Windows to upgrade or install. I'm scanning for viruses in the boot sector and when I get home will try Hiren's boot cd to see if I can try anything there to fix the boot config.

With Ubuntu, I can see the filesystem so I know I can save the data and reinstall windows on a new drive. I just don't understand why when I insert the Windows disks, it will show the loading bar and then the splash screen but the will restart and say that I have 2 options--Startup Repair or Load Windows. Both take me to a black screen with the mouse cursor only.

From what I know, I need to fix the mbr or boot /cfg but I can't get to the command line. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2012, 07:51 PM
Fixedathome.com Fixedathome.com is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 457
Fixedathome.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I'd do the following:

1. Image the hard drive.
2. Run hardware diagnostics on the hard drive.
3. If the hard drive is failing replace the drive, if not load to a Windows Pe environment and run chkdsk /r /f as more often than not unmountable boot volume is caused by a corrupted file system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2012, 08:44 PM
iisjman07's Avatar
iisjman07 iisjman07 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South End Of The UK
Posts: 3,049
iisjman07 has a spectacular aura aboutiisjman07 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Fixedathome has good advice, I just hope the drive isn't beyond repair
__________________
put that in your pipe and grep it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2012, 08:54 PM
andveg38's Avatar
andveg38 andveg38 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
andveg38 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I've got the image and just figured out the drive is bad. I was hoping to just fix the boot problem but if would just show itself again since it was bad.

Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2012, 11:33 PM
compnet compnet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 757
compnet will become famous soon enough
Default



Unmountable boot volume and you didn't bother checking the hard drive?

The computer basically told you the problem..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2012, 11:53 PM
Xander's Avatar
Xander Xander is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Niagara region, Ontario
Posts: 6,693
Xander is a jewel in the roughXander is a jewel in the roughXander is a jewel in the roughXander is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compnet View Post


Unmountable boot volume and you didn't bother checking the hard drive?

The computer basically told you the problem..
^THIS^

Yes, once in a while, it's unmountable due to a screwed MFT or something but checking the disk (after imaging) should have been your first diagnostic step.
__________________
Xander St Catharines Computer Repairs

New here? Watch this and read this. Remember, it's not our problem, it's yours so ask your questions well.
e.g. Make/Model#, Win version/SP#, BSOD 0x#. Consider posting Event Viewer logs, Autoruns exports or Speccy reports.
More info means better answers and less snark.

Don't be parasitic and only pose your own questions. Help others.

D7 question/idea/etc? Bring it to the D7 Forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2012, 03:23 AM
andveg38's Avatar
andveg38 andveg38 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
andveg38 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I would have checked the disk if I could load the Windows disk but it wouldn't. That was already in the plans when I got home to my tools and I've done that and verified it was bad.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2012, 04:31 AM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,312
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andveg38 View Post
I would have checked the disk if I could load the Windows disk but it wouldn't. That was already in the plans when I got home to my tools and I've done that and verified it was bad.
The windows disc doesn't have a hardware diagnostic. (No, chkdsk is not a drive diagnostic tool.) You should be using something like Drive Fitness test, or a commercial suite like Pc-Check to test it properly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:50 AM
andveg38's Avatar
andveg38 andveg38 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
andveg38 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I haven't heard of those. Yes, I've used chkdsk and also Seagate Seatools quite a bit. I'll see what those have to offer. I appreciate the comments.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2012, 11:17 PM
AlaDes's Avatar
AlaDes AlaDes is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: White Sulphur Springs, WV
Posts: 434
AlaDes is on the way
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andveg38 View Post
I haven't heard of those. Yes, I've used chkdsk and also Seagate Seatools quite a bit. I'll see what those have to offer. I appreciate the comments.
I personally use HDD Regenerator to do a full drive scan without the repair option before attempting ANY repairs on a computer now. As PCX has said numerous times, it just makes good sense to perform hardware diagnostics, even for the simplest repairs.

HDD Regenerator seems to do a pretty good job at detecting any problems with a hard drive. The reason I don't do the scan and repair option is because if there are problems with the drive I immediately contact the customer and give them their options before I go any further. I also prefer using other utilities when attempting data recovery.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.