Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-03-2012, 05:46 PM
shamrin shamrin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 767
shamrin will become famous soon enough
Default

Well, if you get Host Not Reachable when you ping 65.55.237.32 (Hotmail) but can reach and ping any other site, then I am really cheering for you to find the solution (not N&P) because I want to hear it. The Live CD test should be interesting.
__________________
Hartland Computer Services, Lexington, Ky 40515
(859) 536-4107
www.CrosbyDrive.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-03-2012, 05:56 PM
jft135's Avatar
jft135 jft135 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 432
jft135 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicenarian View Post
If firefox can access the websites, but not IE, that's really strange. Did you check the Internet Options (IE) "Connections) tab? Check for any erroneous dial-up/VPN settings, check the LAN settings for a proxy, ensure "Automatically Detect Settings" is the only thing that's checked, etc. Maybe IE Parental controls? Internet zone/privacy settings? Cookie settings? Maybe try clearing the IE cache?


Just random ideas; but maybe, just maybe one of them will work
I just reset everything to default. It is really weird. Normally I don't post questions like this, but it is one of the stranger things I've come across lately.
__________________
~Trying and failing leaves but a bruise, but mediocrity is a crippling wound from which few recover~
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-04-2012, 12:58 AM
Vicenarian's Avatar
Vicenarian Vicenarian is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,932
Vicenarian has a spectacular aura aboutVicenarian has a spectacular aura about
Default

I didn't bother re-reading the thread, but have you tried Safe Mode with Networking? See if the issue persists there? If everything works in Safe Mode, fire up your favorite autoruns manager and filter down the list to determine the culprit.
__________________
2 Corinthians 5:21 "For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin (by dying in our place), so that we could be made right with God through Christ."
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:21 AM
iladelf iladelf is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 430
iladelf is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Wonder if the utility mentioned below (I haven't tried it; mentioned elsewhere here on the forums) could assist you in this situation?

http://www.rizonesoft.com/2011/compl...ternet-repair/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:43 PM
colonydata's Avatar
colonydata colonydata is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Statesboro,GA
Posts: 991
colonydata is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jft135 View Post
I totally agree when it is a consumer involved, but to consider nuking a mission critical business PC that is only exhibiting this one problem I like to try to get to the bottom of it. On the other hand, it is a good sign that the PC has been compromised in some way and should not be trusted.

i would probably nuke it at this point, just because it is business critical.

just a thought but have you tried a packet capture? it would be interesting to see what is going out from that pc.
__________________
Quote:
"At Georgia Southern, we don't cheat. Cheating takes money, and we don't have any."-Erk Russell
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.