Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2012, 04:58 PM
johnrobert's Avatar
johnrobert johnrobert is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 679
johnrobert is on a distinguished road
Default Dim screen

Inspiron 1525 laptop

The screen is about half as bright as it should be, it is possible to use but should be a lot brighter. Just wondering if it could be inverter, or maybe cfl bulb
Do these go gradually?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2012, 07:09 PM
Cadishead Computers's Avatar
Cadishead Computers Cadishead Computers is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 4,109
Cadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the rough
Default

How does it look on a external?

Also have you checked the brightness settings? Fn and which ever no it is..
__________________
Hope this helps
Be Safe

Nige
Cadishead Computers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2012, 07:15 PM
anglian's Avatar
anglian anglian is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Felixstowe UK
Posts: 499
anglian is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I would order the CCFL and inverter, they can both be found quite cheaply, then swap the inverter first as it is the easiest to change, if problem is still there change the CCFL and if it cures the problem try it with the old inverter.
I think I paid about £10 for an inverter and £8 for a CCFL bulb 2 weeks ago for a 12" compaq.


EDIT: Inspirons have a lot of screen issues caused by faulty mobo's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2012, 08:04 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadishead Computers View Post
How does it look on a external?

I don't understand why this is asked about LCD brightness issues.




My guess would be the CCFL... Does it show any sign of a red hue when it first turns on?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2012, 08:42 PM
Cadishead Computers's Avatar
Cadishead Computers Cadishead Computers is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 4,109
Cadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the rough
Default

Sorry, head up my ass day, wasn't thinking correctly..
__________________
Hope this helps
Be Safe

Nige
Cadishead Computers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2012, 11:42 PM
johnrobert's Avatar
johnrobert johnrobert is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 679
johnrobert is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the advise

Its turned up to full brightness

I will try an inverter last time I got one for $5 free shipping (China)
I think with an inverter it would be all or nothing
I dont do chaging bulb, but I suspect thats the problem, and it not worth the new screen investment
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2012, 12:55 AM
shamrin shamrin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 774
shamrin will become famous soon enough
Default

That machine is sensitive to which screen you put in it, some work and some that should work don't (when they don't work they run very dim). This might be orthogonal to your problem as you don't say that you replaced the screen, but I thought I would throw it out there.
__________________
Campus Computer Repair, Lexington, Ky 40507
(859) 475-5805
CampusComputerRepair.net
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2012, 01:18 AM
gikstar gikstar is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 869
gikstar is on the way
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnrobert View Post
Thanks for the advise

Its turned up to full brightness

I will try an inverter last time I got one for $5 free shipping (China)
I think with an inverter it would be all or nothing
I dont do chaging bulb, but I suspect thats the problem, and it not worth the new screen investment
I can't agree with you there on the Inverter... I just replaced an inverter on a Dell laptop (9.00 from China) where I could barely see the image on the screen but with an external monitor it looked great. System working great now with it's replacement inverter.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:00 PM
rsarceno's Avatar
rsarceno rsarceno is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 976
rsarceno will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnrobert View Post
I dont do chaging bulb, but I suspect thats the problem, and it not worth the new screen investment
I'm the same way, I don't change CCFL. I change the whole screen and let the client decide.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2012, 07:36 PM
johnrobert's Avatar
johnrobert johnrobert is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 679
johnrobert is on a distinguished road
Default

Itís my daughterís laptop original screen
I changed inverter on another laptop were I could barely see anything and it was fixed, but this is different about half as bright as it should be.
I have an spare Acer screen same size would it work to try out are sockets same for most 15.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.