Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:11 PM
Docs IT Docs IT is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eastern Shore Delaware
Posts: 4
Docs IT is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to Docs IT
Default Need help ASAP - Acronis Issues

I am trying to setup and run complete backup using the Acronis 2012 -see the following error codes

Failed to read data from the disk.
Failed to read from sector '746,230,560' of hard disk '1'.
Failed to read the snapshot. (0x10C45A)
CRC error (0x100155): ⎂Retry/⎂Ignore/Ignore ⎂All/⎂Cancel

More information about this error and solutions may be available online in the Acronis Knowledge Base.
To access the online resource manually, enter the event code at:
Event code: 0x000101F4

Is this error on the hard disk of the Toshiba PC or is the error on the backup Hard drive that was reformatted?

THANKS for the HELP !!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:23 PM
cyabro's Avatar
cyabro cyabro is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 595
cyabro is on a distinguished road
Default

I would say its an error on the hdd that you are trying to take the backup of - the toshiba pc hdd.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:34 PM
Docs IT Docs IT is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eastern Shore Delaware
Posts: 4
Docs IT is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to Docs IT
Default Thank You

Thank You for the quick reply!! As a newbie any support is welcomed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:07 PM
Frick's Avatar
Frick Frick is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 312
Frick is on a distinguished road
Default

Run diagnostics on the source hard drive and I am thinking you will find one or more bad sectors...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2012, 01:55 AM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

You need to give more information.

Are you running this as a live disk, or installed Via OS? If via OS, just go to disk management and look up what disk is disk 1.

Assuming you are cloning a disk, I would recommend using parted magic live disk to run ddrescue. PCX just did a good intro write up on it.

Last edited by Rob_NNCC; 04-28-2012 at 01:58 AM. Reason: adding clarification
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2012, 09:53 AM
gikstar gikstar is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 787
gikstar is on the way
Default

We had a similar situation about a week ago. Tried all of my programs to try to copy the drive, Acronis, Ghost, ShadowProtect, nothing would work. Ran HDDR and it ran ok until 3/4 way testing the drive... then it found bad sectors and was repairing them. I guess it got tired (HDDR that is) 'cause it stopped running... guess the program just gave up on the hard drive.
Had to install a good hard drive, install the O/S and transfer the files manually and load the programs fresh.

Just can't make a decent hourly wage when you're dealing with a problem like the one we had. Wasted many hours trying to clone/backup that drive to no avail because it was a business client's computer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2012, 02:25 PM
TheITVan TheITVan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
TheITVan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Acronis

Use Norton ghost from a boot cd.

(Acronis from a boot cd is also more robust than windows version.)

If bad sectors are detected select option to ignore all bad sectors and continue.

Norton ghost from a boot cd has given me a workable backup and image when everything else failed .

The old hirens 9.5 boot cd had noton ghost included.

If Norton cannot get the info it is time to manual copy as much data as possible and only then run diagnostic tool.

Sometime you only get one go at getting info from a drive ,by the time you have scanned for bad sectors and tried repairing the drive it might be to late.

Backup first then try seagate sea tools .Use long generic option .
If drive fails this I would replace
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.