Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > General Computer Chit-Chat

  Technibble Sponsor

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2012, 05:17 AM
TechLady's Avatar
TechLady TechLady is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 805
TechLady has a spectacular aura aboutTechLady has a spectacular aura about
Default Repair with *ONE* click!

Some guys around my neck of the woods have come up with this: http://www.repairtechsolutions.com

Thoughts?

Update: Download link - http://repairtechsolutions.com/download
__________________
* * * * * * * * * * * *
builtbymom.com
Everything tech with a mom's touch

G+ | Facebook | Twitter

Last edited by TechLady; 04-25-2012 at 05:27 AM.
  #2  
Old 04-25-2012, 06:36 AM
OfficeTechs OfficeTechs is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 262
OfficeTechs is on a distinguished road
Default

looks like a dumbed down D7 type tool...im all in favour of these tools when wielded by someone who knows what they are doing but they can cause more problems than they fix most of the time.

Did you sign up yet?
  #3  
Old 04-25-2012, 07:53 AM
Jamie's Avatar
Jamie Jamie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 130
Jamie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

My Concern is

Quote:
Fixes in this version

Made Hard Drive scans 35x faster by switching to Read-Only mode
Made Memory scans 10x faster by reducing number of tests
Its a diag tool then, not a repair tool
  #4  
Old 04-25-2012, 08:19 AM
nightkingdoms's Avatar
nightkingdoms nightkingdoms is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 597
nightkingdoms will become famous soon enough
Default

Well I downloaded it, put it on a USB drive. It loaded, got to the "Run Diagnostics and Repair" main screen, selected it... Nothing.

It's been running for about an hour with no change on the screen whatsoever other than I can't select another option after selecting the main one. I can see it's reading from the USB disk but that's about it. Computer is a 2 month old Alienware with no issues loaded with the stock Windows 7 Home.

If this is how it's supposed to work, then they really, really need to have a progress or status area for the unknown tests it's running. If not, then they need some better error messages than just freezing to the main screen. Another thing is I'd rather have this as a bootable CD (if it actually does anything). Not every computer I work on has the ability to boot from USB.
__________________
  #5  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:35 PM
CraiGDaniel CraiGDaniel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 273
CraiGDaniel is on a distinguished road
Default

D7 beat them to it. They can't compete
__________________
http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/241/512x166smaller.jpg
  #6  
Old 04-25-2012, 04:58 PM
iisjman07's Avatar
iisjman07 iisjman07 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South End Of The UK
Posts: 3,049
iisjman07 has a spectacular aura aboutiisjman07 has a spectacular aura about
Default

It sounds promising and looks very nice. I like the fact that there's more than one developer because it's more likely to get finished...
__________________
put that in your pipe and grep it
  #7  
Old 04-25-2012, 04:59 PM
iisjman07's Avatar
iisjman07 iisjman07 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South End Of The UK
Posts: 3,049
iisjman07 has a spectacular aura aboutiisjman07 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightkingdoms View Post
Well I downloaded it, put it on a USB drive. It loaded, got to the "Run Diagnostics and Repair" main screen, selected it... Nothing.

It's been running for about an hour with no change on the screen whatsoever other than I can't select another option after selecting the main one. I can see it's reading from the USB disk but that's about it. Computer is a 2 month old Alienware with no issues loaded with the stock Windows 7 Home.

If this is how it's supposed to work, then they really, really need to have a progress or status area for the unknown tests it's running. If not, then they need some better error messages than just freezing to the main screen. Another thing is I'd rather have this as a bootable CD (if it actually does anything). Not every computer I work on has the ability to boot from USB.
How'd you get a download link? I subscribed to the beta but nada...
__________________
put that in your pipe and grep it
  #8  
Old 04-25-2012, 06:39 PM
nightkingdoms's Avatar
nightkingdoms nightkingdoms is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 597
nightkingdoms will become famous soon enough
Default

I did, too. But the OP edited their post with the download link. Like I said, it did nothing for me.

Edit: Just posted to their forums that it didn't do anything. Awaiting a response.
__________________

Last edited by nightkingdoms; 04-25-2012 at 06:48 PM.
  #9  
Old 04-26-2012, 05:19 AM
repairtechinc repairtechinc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 61
repairtechinc is on the way
Default Hey Technibble!

Hi - my name is Ian Alexander. I'm the CEO of RepairTech, Inc, who makes TechUSB. I'm happy that the tech community has started taking notice - we hope that with this Beta run we'll be able to continue to tailor TechUSB to the needs of techs. We've been incredibly excited to get it in the hands of techs, and are continuing to add features as fast as we can.

TechUSB is currently in closed beta while we continue to add features and test it. We have already been notified of a few boot issues and have traced the issue to certain types of video cards. We are currently testing out various fixes. We appreciate all of your interest and encourage you to sign up for beta on our site so that within the next few weeks we can let you all test it out.

You can do so at [WIKI]repairtechsolutions.com[/WIKI]

Jamie - TechUSB actually does repairs as well as diagnostics. The current feature set includes:

Gathers system information
Hard Drive Diagnostics
Memory Diagnostics
File System Checks and Repairs
NTFS, FAT, HFS+, Ext2/3/4
Malware Scans and Removal

We're working on additional features such as cleanup, cloning, multi-layer antivirus scans, CMOS battery checks, automatic notifications, in-windows repair automation (similar to D7), and the ability to customize the repair process. As a computer tech, I had an order checklist that I used on every repair, and my hope is that we can automate all the tasks I had previously done by hand, so that techs can focus on the things that actually require their attention.

Please let us know if you have any questions, you can email us at info@repairtechsolutions.com .

Ian Alexander
CEO RepairTech, Inc
ian@repairtechsolutions.com
  #10  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:03 AM
TechLady's Avatar
TechLady TechLady is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 805
TechLady has a spectacular aura aboutTechLady has a spectacular aura about
Default Thanks!

Thanks for the head's up, Ian, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We'll be very interested in trying it out when you're ready!
__________________
* * * * * * * * * * * *
builtbymom.com
Everything tech with a mom's touch

G+ | Facebook | Twitter
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.