Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-17-2012, 08:39 AM
chookey chookey is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
chookey is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

If you decide to replace the caps go for good quality ones with a low ripple current. I tend to favour those from Panasonic.

Also make sure you use 105 caps rather than the 85 ones.

However, imo this is unlikely to effect a repair for your problem. Leaky caps usually result in a reduction of power being available to the relevant circuit. Your hard drive going up in smoke seems to indicate a short, overvoltage or electrical spike.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-17-2012, 10:39 AM
pcpickup's Avatar
pcpickup pcpickup is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Taylor MI
Posts: 159
pcpickup is on a distinguished road
Default

We only replace caps in special situations as mentioned to save from reloading windows. As long as the machine was just having issues such as BSOD replacing caps usually works. But if the caps have been bad for a while I assume that the value of the caps changing as they went bad caused damage to the circuits making changing the caps pointless.
__________________
We are Better Than a Whole Squad of Geeks!

http://www.facebook.com/pcpickup

http://lawrencesystems.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-17-2012, 10:53 AM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,360
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

I am probably just going to suggest a new build and use his almost new hard drive in it, there will be over a year warranty remaining so I could use that and still provide a full warranty on the machine.

I agree its not worth fixing the board or replacing it, because I would want to change that damn Colors IT PSU too.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-17-2012, 12:27 PM
Knightsman's Avatar
Knightsman Knightsman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,358
Knightsman is on a distinguished road
Default

If this is a custom PC, you can swap in a new board and not void Microsofts agreement. I forget the links, but I check it everytime I need to do it. I have multiple business customers that I have setup with OEM copies of windows, and have verified it was within the agreement.

If your referring to an OEM in a sense of HP, Sony, Dell, Toshiba, then yes, you have to stick with same exact hardware.

actually, here is a good link:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...b-d8d9003f9246
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-17-2012, 12:57 PM
Cadishead Computers's Avatar
Cadishead Computers Cadishead Computers is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 4,104
Cadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the rough
Default

You can replace the mobo Ian, and have it activated.

It does not need to be the exact same chipset etc. Chances are as you have stated that you cannot get the same chipset.

M$ would not class this as a upgrade, as your replacing the board due to a fault on the mobo. Not like, you want to upgrade the mobo because you can.

From memory, it has to be the same chipset, but in cases such as yours where this is not possible, as long as it is not a major upgrade your fine, and the activation will proceed with no issues.

The only thing I can forsee, is ensuring that the new boards front panel connectors are in the same place, else a new case may also be required.
__________________
Hope this helps
Be Safe

Nige
Cadishead Computers
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-17-2012, 02:35 PM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,360
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

Spoke to my client and I think money is not really an issue so he wants me to go ahead with a new build using the nearly new hard drive

It was a custom built PC with the cheapest crap of everything.

He wants a nice new I5 system .
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-17-2012, 02:45 PM
Slaters Kustum Machines's Avatar
Slaters Kustum Machines Slaters Kustum Machines is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,160
Slaters Kustum Machines is on a distinguished road
Default

Glad to hear it is working out for you. Now build him a high quality rig you can stand behind!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-17-2012, 02:53 PM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,360
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

Always do, nothing but Asus/Gigabyte boards, Corsair Power supplies etc >

The box shifters want a lot of money for desktops too atm, so there is decent profit in it, for the first time since around 2005, the only problem is the market is now very limited.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-17-2012, 05:34 PM
Mr.Mike Mr.Mike is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 1,130
Mr.Mike is on a distinguished road
Default

Congrats on getting the new build job!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.