Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2012, 12:43 AM
dgiles79's Avatar
dgiles79 dgiles79 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 493
dgiles79 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy New LCD is fuzzy - Help needed

I had a laptop come in that had a visibly cracked screen, but displays normally on an external monitor.

So i ordered a replacement screen using the LCD model number, but it was blurry after I installed it (see attachment). Assuming I had received a faulty screen, I requested a replacement. The replacement did exactly the same thing.

I then decided to replace the LCD cable, but still the same results.

Has anyone seen anything like this before, do you think it could still be the motherboard even though it displays ok in the external? The motherboard is the only other thing that comes to mind (unless I did get 2 bad LCDs with exact same issue)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0740.jpg (100.0 KB, 91 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2012, 12:59 AM
compnet compnet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 757
compnet will become famous soon enough
Default

Could be the LCD cable
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:11 AM
dgiles79's Avatar
dgiles79 dgiles79 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 493
dgiles79 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compnet View Post
Could be the LCD cable
I already replaced the LCD cable, but it still did the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:13 AM
compnet compnet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 757
compnet will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgiles79 View Post
I already replaced the LCD cable, but it still did the same thing.
I suppose I could try reading.. lol

I would also highly doubt that two screens in a row would have the same problem.. I have a test screen for these situations.. Maybe you could take apart an easy laptop and try a known good screen before ordering up the mobo...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:14 AM
phaZed's Avatar
phaZed phaZed is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,792
phaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the rough
Default

For me, when I see lines on the screen like that I find its a bad LCD. Could try applying slight pressure to the "do not touch " tape on back of LCD and see if it changes.
__________________

Aaron Heidlebaugh
Computer Technician / Owner
www.AaronsPCSupport.com
804-307-4465 (Call or Text)
Laptop LCD repair | DC Power Jack Repair | Virus Removal
Desktop Repair | Hardware | Software | Troubleshooting
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:43 AM
dgiles79's Avatar
dgiles79 dgiles79 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 493
dgiles79 is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm starting to think I might have received 2 bad screens in a row with the same issue. I tried testing with some old broken screens, most of which are too broken to see anything, but I have 1 old screen where I can see the bottom right corner of the screen.

On the old broken one, the Intel logo in the bottom right appears clear, but on the new one the Intel logo is blurry. (see 2 attachments)

Seems strange that I would get 2 new screens with the same issues, but it looks like that may have happened.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0743.jpg (92.2 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0746.jpg (95.2 KB, 66 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:52 AM
MotzTech's Avatar
MotzTech MotzTech is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 931
MotzTech has a spectacular aura aboutMotzTech has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgiles79 View Post
Seems strange that I would get 2 new screens with the same issues, but it looks like that may have happened.
That actually is quite possible. It could be a problem with a small batch of screens that where made around the same time. If it is a small number, the manufacturer may not have noticed. I have had the same thing happen with some hard drives that I ordered.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2012, 12:02 AM
commodore64's Avatar
commodore64 commodore64 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 182
commodore64 is on a distinguished road
Default

You may need to try a different vendor, or at least have that vendor try a different model. I say this because usually there more than one model or brand of screen that will work for any given model of laptop. We had one vendor send this three screens, all were verified to be good by the vendor, yet all three gave a similar screen to what you show. I ended up using a different vendor who gave us a different compatible screen and it worked just fine.
__________________
Compudoc Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2012, 01:14 AM
dgiles79's Avatar
dgiles79 dgiles79 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 493
dgiles79 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by commodore64 View Post
You may need to try a different vendor, or at least have that vendor try a different model. I say this because usually there more than one model or brand of screen that will work for any given model of laptop. We had one vendor send this three screens, all were verified to be good by the vendor, yet all three gave a similar screen to what you show. I ended up using a different vendor who gave us a different compatible screen and it worked just fine.
I ordered a screen from a different vendor this morning, so I will see what happens when it arrives.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2012, 09:28 AM
rsarceno's Avatar
rsarceno rsarceno is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 994
rsarceno will become famous soon enough
Default

I used to order laptop screens form different vendors and hate it when I have to RMA. Now, I only buy form screencountry.com. They don't have the lowest price but it's reasonable. I bought dozen of screen and so far no RMA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.