Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:09 AM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 834
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default Dell boot stops at Dell Splash Screen

Anyone seen this issue before?

When booting up a Dell Desktop, it stops and freezes at the Dell Logo splash screen during post. Unplugging the machine and plugging it back in allows it to boot normal. Reboot and same issue... have to unplug and then plug it back in.

Maybe a BIOS or Chipset setting when it is passing off control?

Digging into the BIOS settings, it looks like it is getting reported as a keyboard error. Another keyboard has the same results.

Removing USB devices and video/modem from motherboard does not resolve the issue.
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:31 AM
alluseridsrejected alluseridsrejected is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bremond, TX
Posts: 184
alluseridsrejected is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

What kind of keyboards are you trying? The other day I had an HP desktop that would hang like that with a USB keyboard plugged in. I tried a PS2 keyboard and it worked. Never figured out why, I could not find any bios setting that would let the usb keyboard boot and just gave up after I got it working with the PS2 one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:31 AM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

have you done any troubleshooting steps like clearing the cmos and replacing the CR2032 cmos battery?

I had a compaq laptop come across my bench that would not clear the BIOS splash screen until I took it apart and replaced the battery.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:32 PM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 834
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alluseridsrejected View Post
What kind of keyboards are you trying? The other day I had an HP desktop that would hang like that with a USB keyboard plugged in. I tried a PS2 keyboard and it worked. Never figured out why, I could not find any bios setting that would let the usb keyboard boot and just gave up after I got it working with the PS2 one.
There are no PS2 ports, and after the power off an back on, it boots fine. BIOS is set to allow USB during boot.
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:34 PM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 834
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob_NNCC View Post
have you done any troubleshooting steps like clearing the cmos and replacing the CR2032 cmos battery?

I had a compaq laptop come across my bench that would not clear the BIOS splash screen until I took it apart and replaced the battery.
Yes. Have cleared the CMOS via jumper as well as removing and replacing the battery. Also reset the BIOS to factory settings.
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:42 PM
Knightsman's Avatar
Knightsman Knightsman is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,321
Knightsman is on a distinguished road
Default

You probably have but have you tested the memory and Hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2012, 03:09 PM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 834
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

It has to be keyboard related. Gonna try and dig up a 3rd keyboard to test with. It works without issue if the keyboard is not present and BIOS is still indicating keyboard failure.
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2012, 03:10 PM
TDowis TDowis is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
TDowis is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to TDowis
Default

not that this is going to be any help, but I have an emachine in my shop the same way, was going to refurb it to sell but cant cause of the same issue. only way i can get it to boot normally is to leave the bios battery out, and just unplug and replug it in. so i use it as a shop machine. (of course i have to reset the date every time i do)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2012, 04:06 PM
bsil bsil is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 37
bsil is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Hi Chris,

Did you happen to try a BIOS update aside from the factory reset? Also, sometimes the BIOS has a legacy USB setting which I usually shut off unless I know something in the system is relying on it. Sometimes that is enabled, and causes funky things to happen with USB. I'm sure you tried this, but just thinking of what I might try off the top of my head.

I'll assume you tried an alternate USB port.

I have seen some strange things with USB and power. Have you tried a powered USB hub, and plugging the keyboard into the hub? I had a similar issue on my wife's PC (although she was running a g15 gaming keyboard), and after running it through the powered hub, the issue was gone.

The last thing I would look at is the wiring/soldering to the USB ports on the mobo. If it is wired (are all the connections well attached to the pins?), if it is a solder, is it broken or shorting somehow?

Pretty much all I can think of trying...hope you solve it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2012, 08:17 PM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 834
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsil View Post
Hi Chris,

Did you happen to try a BIOS update aside from the factory reset?

Pretty much all I can think of trying...hope you solve it.
Thanks for the suggestion. It was already running the latest BIOS. Out of curiosity, I flashed it back a version and so far it seems to be working. I'll let you know if it continues to work.
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.