Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-22-2012, 10:45 PM
Techmobile Techmobile is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Lewis, Scotland
Posts: 14
Techmobile is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Have you tried swapping the SATA cable?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-22-2012, 11:06 PM
kcooke1983's Avatar
kcooke1983 kcooke1983 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 169
kcooke1983 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to kcooke1983
Default

Ha ha yes swap SATA cable. Where is my head tonight. Will do that next.

One of the caps looks suspect, with a slight bulge at the bottom.
__________________
Karl Cooke

www.s25computers.co.uk (under construction)

"Honesty costs nothing"

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-23-2012, 12:43 AM
bsil bsil is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 37
bsil is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I had something similar to this once. A friend of mine shipped his pc to me from FL, and I went through roughly all the same things you did. I finally got the mobo part number and just started google searching that part. I finally stumbled across a forum, and someone there suggested to another poster to look on the board for a jumper. Now I had looked over the board, and saw one jumper, and assumed it was just a BIOS jumper. Anyway, the post said to pull it off, and try to boot. It said that it should fail the boot, and then put it back on, and boot. It should boot after that, because it will recognize the hardware change.

I was thinking..."WTH is this all about?" So, I try it, and surer than heck it boots with no issues. I guess the long and short of it is, you may have some mobo oddity in front of you. Try any weird thing you can think of because sometimes weird things work.

"Sometimes weird things work." I'm going to use that line more.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-23-2012, 01:58 AM
kevinjhaag kevinjhaag is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 505
kevinjhaag is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcooke1983 View Post
It is a Packard Bell IMedia X2415, Windows Vista 32-Bit, 3GB Ram, Core 2 Quad Processor
Holy Smokes...Are you kidding? A Packard Bell. There's your problem...LOL. Just kidding. I thought that lineup was phased out. I'd run a full and complete diagnostics on this computer for sure and go from there. Let us know what you find out tho..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-23-2012, 02:14 AM
Encrypted Existence Encrypted Existence is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,239
Encrypted Existence is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsil View Post
"Sometimes weird things work." I'm going to use that line more.
Your signature perhaps?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:21 AM
kcooke1983's Avatar
kcooke1983 kcooke1983 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 169
kcooke1983 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to kcooke1983
Default

Ha ha yea a Packard Bell. A PC World special.

Will check out the weird and wonderfuls tonight.

There is at least one suspect cap. Some of the other symptoms such as faulty network port point towards a failing motherboard.

So as its an OEM build its like a new machine needed.

Sent from my Galaxy S-II using Tapatalk.
__________________
Karl Cooke

www.s25computers.co.uk (under construction)

"Honesty costs nothing"

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.