Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:38 PM
Velvis Velvis is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 329
Velvis is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Cisco Ironport message popping up

I did some work last night on a client machine (Windows 7). (Updates, scans, etc.) I also may have renamed the computer, (I dont recall for sure, as it was late and I renamed a bunch).

Today when attempting to access any webpage on that machine (no others seem effected) I get a message popup:

The server at ironport.prod.isheath.net at ironport web service appliance
requires a username and password.
Its asking for a username/password I didnt know existed.

My guess is its something in the server closet that I havent needed to deal with that has come up from changing the computer name.

I can log into the machine with user and admin credentials without issue, but no web access and the mapped drives wont connect.

I can ping yahoo and that works.

I looked into Internet Explorer settings for a proxy setting but it set at automatically detect.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2012, 04:04 PM
onetech4all's Avatar
onetech4all onetech4all is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 513
onetech4all is on a distinguished road
Default Re:

We use the IronPort at work (my full time job), but I don't manage it.
When the browser is asking for credentials we use this format:
User: domain\username
password: pass

It's not very much, but I hope it helps!
__________________
"Do you work to live, or do you live to work?"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2012, 04:23 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 7,965
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Content filtering appliance at the edge of their corporate network. Depending on the policies...you may need to contact the IT guy at their office to have him let the computer back on (although I don't recall seeing those need the netbios name of the computer to allow it through).

But here's what I would be concerned about...since you "don't remember" if you renamed his computer or not, since it was a corporate network...it probably runs active directory (a server..a domain controller) and you shouldn't be nilly willy renaming workstations ..you should have gotten challenged for admin credentials when you tried to do that...and the workstation now has "fallen" off of the domain. The IronPort is probably using AD based authentication to allow end users through..and that is now broken.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2012, 07:16 PM
OfficeTechs OfficeTechs is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 262
OfficeTechs is on a distinguished road
Default

yep endpoint security to ensure the user can only access the net through authorized channels and as above will surely use AD credentials (probably cached).

Is it running 7 Professional?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2012, 07:38 PM
Tekko Tekko is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 409
Tekko will become famous soon enough
Default

Stonecat pretty much nailed it.

If it turns out you didn't rename the computer, then you're probably using a browser without LDAP functionality, and should switch the user back to IE
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.