Go Back   Technibble Forums > Service Solutions > Remote Support

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:20 PM
katz's Avatar
katz katz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southeast Penna.
Posts: 1,028
katz has a spectacular aura aboutkatz has a spectacular aura about
Default Remote Support revisited...

I don't know what the problem is, but I seem to have issues with this. I normally use LMI free or join.me. I have tried out Team Viewer & Mikogo a few times.

My issue is that unless the client is on a broadband connection (hi-speed cable) I get awful lag times.

DSL or Sat.? Forget it. The mouse moves around the screen in a very jittery fashion, windows are slow to open, the screen draws slowly, the pc responds slowly in general.

As mentioned, if I am connecting via. cable, no issues.

This can't be the norm with all the techs out there doing remote support. Surely you all don't suffer through this.

What is going on here? How can I resolve these issues?
__________________
Nothing to see here... :(
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2012, 11:05 PM
alluseridsrejected alluseridsrejected is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 220
alluseridsrejected is on a distinguished road
Default

Satellite I can totally understand it being slow, & yes that would be normal. The ping time is outrageous on Satellite. Are you sure they really have DSL? It should not be noticeably different from cable. Go to speedtest.net and check their connection speed. Look at the ping time. Satellite is usually 1000+ ms, DSL should be like 50ms & under.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2012, 11:12 PM
alluseridsrejected alluseridsrejected is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 220
alluseridsrejected is on a distinguished road
Default

Also I would add that join.me always seems kind of doggy response to me. Logmein free should be better. I have used both of them, but they are not what I normally use. Also working remote, it is never just like sitting in from of the machine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2012, 11:35 PM
katz's Avatar
katz katz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southeast Penna.
Posts: 1,028
katz has a spectacular aura aboutkatz has a spectacular aura about
Default

With DSL they are getting something like 1.5 Mbps, I forget what the ping is right now. I forgot to mention, customers with Verizon 3G, same experience - painfully slow.

Here is something odd, though;

When I was at the client's house with DSL, we had a tech from Lexmark remote in to work on their printer. He was using LMI Rescue, I think.

He had absolutely no problems at all with lag or slow working times. That is what doesn't make sense to me...
__________________
Nothing to see here... :(
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2012, 11:52 PM
alluseridsrejected alluseridsrejected is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 220
alluseridsrejected is on a distinguished road
Default

1.5mb should be plenty, but that is probably the download speed. There is much uploading in a remote session and that is usually slower, but I find the ping time has a bigger effect on the responsiveness. 3G should give around 120 + or - ms ping, but there are many, many variables. Like signal strength and cell tower load and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2012, 12:42 AM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 845
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

When LogMeIn is acting slow, I usually turn off the clip board sync and it seems to help a lot!
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2012, 02:25 AM
katz's Avatar
katz katz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southeast Penna.
Posts: 1,028
katz has a spectacular aura aboutkatz has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geekhelp4u View Post
When LogMeIn is acting slow, I usually turn off the clip board sync and it seems to help a lot!
I will give that a try. Another tech suggested setting the display to black/white mode in an effort to speed things up.
__________________
Nothing to see here... :(
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2012, 12:44 PM
callthatgirl's Avatar
callthatgirl callthatgirl is online now
VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,524
callthatgirl is a jewel in the roughcallthatgirl is a jewel in the roughcallthatgirl is a jewel in the rough
Default

Hi Katz, I don't use those products, but I know that Windows 7 and Vista can cause lag and mouse issues if you don't turn off UAC on the machine. That really helps with our tools. We can turn them off with the LMIR, not sure if you can with those tools or not.

I hope that helps!
__________________
Click here to check out my 5 eBooks if you want to learn...
Remote Support
Social Media
SEO for WordPress
Exchange Migrations
Manual of Operations (Template)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2012, 09:11 PM
katz's Avatar
katz katz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southeast Penna.
Posts: 1,028
katz has a spectacular aura aboutkatz has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thanks for that info., CTG. I will log into a Vista pc that I service & see if I can turn off UAC. My problem is, I am having these issues with XP as well.

Don't do enough remote support to justify purchasing a pgm. yet, so I am wondering if this is simply just an issue with all the free versions?
__________________
Nothing to see here... :(
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.