Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2012, 12:55 AM
mau64's Avatar
mau64 mau64 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 200
mau64 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Network Question

I got another problem I'm stumped on that is really puzzling me and it has to do with connecting to the wireless network.

My guess is her wireless card has gone bad and I need to order her a new one, but how would I know it is bad? She has a HP Pavilion dv5000 laptop and it shows no errors on the hardware but could it have still gone bad? Every time I try to attempt to do any sort of repair it always fails.

I've updated the drivers, called Belkin technical support (who was not too helpful) and ran other network diagnostic programs but they all fail at trying to fix anything.

Thanks in advance guys, you've been so helpful already.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:02 AM
Elemdee's Avatar
Elemdee Elemdee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 773
Elemdee is on a distinguished road
Default

Are you able to access the Internet when plugged in via ethernet cord? I had a laptop in this week infected with the zero.access rootkit which affects the tcp/ip stack. Probably not your issue but worth checking.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:04 AM
mau64's Avatar
mau64 mau64 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 200
mau64 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yes, I'm able to connect as I plug in through ethernet.

It gets even stranger. It shows that it is currently connected to my internet. It shows the speed at 54.0 and a strong signal strength. It even shows the name of my network.

But, if you click "view wireless networks" it shows that their are none in range. I also cannot get on IE unless I plug in through ethernet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:33 AM
mau64's Avatar
mau64 mau64 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 200
mau64 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I figured out the problem, I had to reset the Winsock by going into command prompt and typing in: netsh winsock reset catalog

Hope this helps out someone else
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:35 AM
Banleno007 Banleno007 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Banleno007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mau64 View Post
, but how would I know it is bad? She has a HP Pavilion dv5000 laptop and it shows no errors on the hardware but could it have still gone bad?
There is not much of standard tests. You can try connecting to different public networks, if you get connection for most of them: your card is fine. Also some cards just are not good, and have serious issues with routers of different brands.

Cheers your problem had been solved and thank you for your tips .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2012, 10:45 PM
Rosco's Avatar
Rosco Rosco is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 1,820
Rosco is on a distinguished road
Default

good way to test it is a smart phone wifi... if the smart phone connects and the ethernet works and you checked all the other configurations most likely its the card
__________________

There's no place like 127.0.0.1
C:\WINDOWS C:\WINDOWS\GO C:\PC\CRAWL
Nibbler for life
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2012, 02:37 PM
glricht glricht is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Zephyrhills, Florida
Posts: 831
glricht has a spectacular aura aboutglricht has a spectacular aura about
Default

I make sure I always have my laptop with me when working onsite on a customer networking problem since I know what my PC will do.

If wired/wireless networking fails with my laptop, then it's usually the router/modem and I'll focus on that. If my PC connects fine, then it's usually the customer's PC.
__________________
Gary Richtmeyer
C&G Web Enterprises
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2012, 03:20 PM
altrenda altrenda is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So California
Posts: 1,659
altrenda is a jewel in the roughaltrenda is a jewel in the roughaltrenda is a jewel in the rough
Default

I carry a wireless router in my kit, just in case. Its saved me time by eliminating or pinpointing router problems.

I've also sold my test router several times when the clients router was bad. Eliminated a "Go Back" and made the customer happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.