Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Software Applications

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2012, 01:17 AM
COMPUTERKARATE's Avatar
COMPUTERKARATE COMPUTERKARATE is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dedham, MA USA
Posts: 33
COMPUTERKARATE is an unknown quantity at this point
Question SUPERAntiSpyware problem

Decided to try SASW as it sounded pretty good. First shot, installed trial (free version) ran quick scan, found some harmless cookies.

Started full scan, ran for about ten minutes then got the MS baloon 'Program stopped...'

Computer was NOT locked. Just SASW stopped working.

Re-booted anyways, ran SASW full scan again and with same problem.

Ran Malwarebytes full scan without issue.

OS> Windows 7 Home

Any thoughts, ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2012, 01:19 AM
Slaters Kustum Machines's Avatar
Slaters Kustum Machines Slaters Kustum Machines is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,110
Slaters Kustum Machines is on a distinguished road
Default

Run a different scanner? What else have you done?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 02:28 AM
COMPUTERKARATE's Avatar
COMPUTERKARATE COMPUTERKARATE is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dedham, MA USA
Posts: 33
COMPUTERKARATE is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I ran mbam with no problems.

Re-installed SASW trial. Ran with same error.
MS baloon listed several files to look at in C\users\......appdata\local\temp but the dir was empty. Show hidden files = on
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2012, 02:34 AM
Slaters Kustum Machines's Avatar
Slaters Kustum Machines Slaters Kustum Machines is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,110
Slaters Kustum Machines is on a distinguished road
Default

Try HMP or TDSSKiller, check startup items, malicious processes in task manager. Check into D7 by FoolishTech on here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2012, 05:50 PM
COMPUTERKARATE's Avatar
COMPUTERKARATE COMPUTERKARATE is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dedham, MA USA
Posts: 33
COMPUTERKARATE is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks for the help guys. Sure I can use other methods, scanners, but being a stubborn ------- I want to get SAS to work, which I finally did. SAS Cust service sent me two things to try. I didn't try them because it was working by then. Thought I'd share the responses, just in case anyone is interested.

SAS response:
Open SUPERAntiSpyware, select a Complete Scan then click on 'Scan Your Computer' - this will open a scan options window. In the lower right corner of this window is an option that says 'Scan Inside Zip Files' - please UNCHECK this. Exit SUPERAntiSpyware by right-clicking the bug icon and clicking "Exit," then restart it and run a scan.

If that doesn't fix it, try this:

Open SUPERAntiSpyware, click on Preferences, go to the Scanning Control tab, and then UNCHECK the 2nd to last, 3rd to last, and 4th to last options in the list -- they will be named 'Kernel Direct File', 'Kernel Direct Registry' and 'Direct Disk'. Please UNCHECK these. Exit SUPERAntiSpyware by right-clicking the bug icon and clicking "Exit," then restart it and run a scan.

Regards, SUPERAntiSpyware Customer Service
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2012, 05:57 PM
DCGPX's Avatar
DCGPX DCGPX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bradford, United kingdom
Posts: 992
DCGPX is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COMPUTERKARATE View Post
Thanks for the help guys. Sure I can use other methods, scanners, but being a stubborn ------- I want to get SAS to work, which I finally did. SAS Cust service sent me two things to try. I didn't try them because it was working by then. Thought I'd share the responses, just in case anyone is interested.

SAS response:
Open SUPERAntiSpyware, select a Complete Scan then click on 'Scan Your Computer' - this will open a scan options window. In the lower right corner of this window is an option that says 'Scan Inside Zip Files' - please UNCHECK this. Exit SUPERAntiSpyware by right-clicking the bug icon and clicking "Exit," then restart it and run a scan.

If that doesn't fix it, try this:

Open SUPERAntiSpyware, click on Preferences, go to the Scanning Control tab, and then UNCHECK the 2nd to last, 3rd to last, and 4th to last options in the list -- they will be named 'Kernel Direct File', 'Kernel Direct Registry' and 'Direct Disk'. Please UNCHECK these. Exit SUPERAntiSpyware by right-clicking the bug icon and clicking "Exit," then restart it and run a scan.

Regards, SUPERAntiSpyware Customer Service
This is one other reason I went of SAS, I had full version on mine but it slowed everything down massively. Took a while for me to get it down to SAS but once I took it off it felt like my laptop had a new ferrari engine in!

If they are asking to take things off then to me they are diminishing its role/ability rather than fixing the issue at source ie their programming.

If a security app cant install and run at default settings as the very least then its not up to much in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2012, 10:18 PM
ArtemusComputerTechnology's Avatar
ArtemusComputerTechnology ArtemusComputerTechnology is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 338
ArtemusComputerTechnology is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Sas

@COMPUTERKARATE

Well, I'm not a big fan of SAS. My fav is MBAM. SAS has some flaws that I try to stay away from from past experience. Slow scans, scans pausing and stopping with no error message or log. My best advice is to stick with MBAM. Just a word of advice.
__________________

www.artemuscomptech.com
CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Server+, MTA, MCTS, MCSA, & CCENT
Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube
AVG Authorized Reseller
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2012, 11:09 PM
bertie40's Avatar
bertie40 bertie40 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,424
bertie40 has a spectacular aura aboutbertie40 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Judging by most peoples experience, both progs (SAS & MBAM) have a tendency to miss things that the other catches.

On a customers machine, I normally run both.

Regards.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk ..... Whist proclaiming the machine fixed, grabbing the cash and running like hell.
__________________
......Proclaiming the machine fixed, grabbing the cash and running like hell !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2012, 12:14 AM
emsbronco's Avatar
emsbronco emsbronco is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wayland, NY
Posts: 260
emsbronco is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertie40 View Post
Judging by most peoples experience, both progs (SAS & MBAM) have a tendency to miss things that the other catches.

On a customers machine, I normally run both.

Regards.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk ..... Whist proclaiming the machine fixed, grabbing the cash and running like hell.
Both SAS and MBAM were originally designed to run alongside a standard AV program. Because of that, they are better against spyware than regular viruses.

I have been running SAS 5 alongside Security Essentials on my desktop for a while now and the performance has been fine. SAS' real time protection did actually catch a fake AV that tried to load from a web based flash ad recently, so it does work.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2012, 06:45 AM
Marius's Avatar
Marius Marius is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 174
Marius is on a distinguished road
Default

I usually disable SAS...and run it only once a week...no problems.

Matter of interest ---> http://forums.superantispyware.com/i...re-release-50/
__________________
Don't stress to much...Today is Tomorrow's Yesterday - By: ME :)

Computer Specialist
Computer Forensic Analyst
Developer: Remote Access Control (Uvnc Plugin)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.