Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2009, 04:07 PM
arhymas arhymas is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Herriman, UT
Posts: 10
arhymas is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to arhymas
Default DNS problem

I'm working on someone's computer trying to get the internet to work. The only way I have been able to get it to pull up any webpages is to type in the actual IP address of the website. I know it is a DNS resolving issue on the computer itself. I flushed the dns cache but there was no change. I'm scratching my head on this one. Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2009, 04:16 PM
arhymas arhymas is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Herriman, UT
Posts: 10
arhymas is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to arhymas
Default

Everything is dynamic. An IP address is assigned to the computer and I even renewed and refreshed the IP settings. I'm not familiar with ISPFIX. I'll have to check that out. This is actually the second problem on the machine. The first, which could be related is that it was running extremely slow and the computer was displaying an err msg: "corrupted or missing windows/config/system.log file." I ran a chkdsk /f /r and fixed that issue. I guess it is possible one thing caused both problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2009, 04:26 PM
eric76 eric76 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 244
eric76 can only hope to improve
Default

Have you checked IP configuration to see what DNS servers are being used? I have had this issue a few times lately, especially with people using Comcast. Here's what I did: Change the DNS address to use OpenDNS, use these addresses 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 Then re-boot the modem/router. Hope this helps you out.

Last edited by eric76; 03-26-2009 at 04:28 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2009, 07:43 PM
kamdroid kamdroid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 15
kamdroid is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Have you tried a winsock reset?

netsh winsock reset

from the command line.

Last edited by kamdroid; 03-26-2009 at 07:43 PM. Reason: miss-spelt reset
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2009, 05:47 PM
arhymas arhymas is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Herriman, UT
Posts: 10
arhymas is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to arhymas
Default

Both LSPFIX and the winsock reset didn't make any difference. I still cannot get online with that computer. Every other computer on my home network works just fine. It is something to do with some corruption in the DNS resolution on the computer itself. Anybody else have any ideas? =)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:18 PM
LunchBox's Avatar
LunchBox LunchBox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County, California, USA
Posts: 733
LunchBox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I am not sure if you tried the following but here is my 2 cents

1> Reset IE make sure proxy is not used.

2> Make sure that the firewall is not doing something weird maybe turn it off for a sec and go to microsoft.com.

3> Restart in safe mode with network support then see if you can surf the internet

4> Create a new local account on the PC and see if you can surf the internet

5> Install Firefox and try surfing with it (I once had where IE was corrupted and firefox worked, I had to remove and reinstall IE or maybe I did a windows repair install cant remember now)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:25 PM
iptech iptech is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PC Biz
Posts: 2,069
iptech is on the way
Default

Install/reinstall SP3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dns, internet connection

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.