Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Software Applications

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2009, 01:12 AM
computergeek1 computergeek1 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 549
computergeek1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default nlite

i am just about to update my dell cd xp pro to include services pack 3 all the updates, and drivers using nlite do i only need the I386 folder to add the stuff and them create a iso. also how do i add the driver packs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2009, 02:02 AM
abe's Avatar
abe abe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 1,144
abe is on the way
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by computergeek1 View Post
i am just about to update my dell cd xp pro to include services pack 3 all the updates, and drivers using nlite do i only need the I386 folder to add the stuff and them create a iso. also how do i add the driver packs
nlite is pretty much self explantory just download install and follow instructions. it does everything for you just pop the cd in point nlite to it, it then takes what it needs asks you what you wanna do with the install i.e. add hot fixes, unattended etc. you then just follow very basic instructions.

Abe
__________________
One should expect stupid answers to stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2009, 08:07 AM
LunchBox's Avatar
LunchBox LunchBox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County, California, USA
Posts: 736
LunchBox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

You can use NLite to upgrade OEM install CD's and you can even modify it by creating a unattended install. Adding the service pack is the easiest. Its the other stuff that is the hardest.

The only thing I have not tried and is to create a dell CD (or HP or any other manufacturer). Since those CD already have the drivers and apps in special the folders I dont think (dont quote me though) you will be able to re-create an exact duplicate of that CD that will re-create the restore and working partition.

I think it has to do with the mechanism that prevents those types of CD from being used in other machine i. e. dell cd to be used on HP's PC and vise versa.

I would probably image the HD and then test that out. Again dont quote me cause I never tried it I am just going through how the CD is built
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2009, 09:48 AM
teejay teejay is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
teejay is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LunchBox View Post
The only thing I have not tried and is to create a dell CD (or HP or any other manufacturer). Since those CD already have the drivers and apps in special the folders I dont think (dont quote me though) you will be able to re-create an exact duplicate of that CD that will re-create the restore and working partition.
A small correction, I agree with your point for HP recovery CDs but for my Dell (with Vista) the recovery DVD looks like generic vista without any drivers. There is a separate DVD for the drivers and Dell website even has got a webpage in the sequence those drivers to be installed.
I am not too sure about Dell XP cds, never had a Dell machine with XP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2009, 09:17 AM
computergeek1 computergeek1 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 549
computergeek1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i have done the services pack 3, what files on the dell xp pro do i need to delete to make a normal xp cd, where was something on the forum about it, but cant find it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.