Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Software Applications

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:26 PM
holyspidoo holyspidoo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
holyspidoo is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Anyone had disapearing internet options with ie7 and solved it?

Hi,

Here is the one problem I was never ever able to fix, except with reinstalling a clean windows. (maybe installing ie8 will finally solve this once it is released)


Ie7 is installed.

Trying to open internet options from the ie7 icon on the desktop or within the ie7 menu opens nothing. No error messages, simply nothing happens.

In control panel, the icon for internet options is there, but there is NO TEXT under it. Blank text with the icon. won't open either (no error).

Every policy setting in registry is okay.

The .CPL file is the right version. Tried copying from other computer, same thing.

I can change the .CPL file to open the ie6 internet options. But theses options are lackluster as opposed to ie7's

Removing/reinstalling ie7 causes same problem.

Uninstall to ie6 works, since the ie6 CPL file works when ie7 is installed.


My guess is ie8 will automatically fix this... but in the mean time, anyone has ever fixed this?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2009, 11:30 PM
TimeCode's Avatar
TimeCode TimeCode is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 1,260
TimeCode is on a distinguished road
Default

Try Trojan Remover... http://www.simplysup.com/tremover/details.html
__________________
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2009, 02:52 AM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 835
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

Have you tried starting IE in safe mode to see if an addon is causing the issue?

Start - Run

Type "iexplore.exe –extoff" without qoutes

hit enter

does it open this way?

also try this .bat
http://www.filedropper.com/reregisterie

or make it yourself with the following:

regsvr32 /u /s urlmon.dll
regsvr32 /u /s mshtml.dll
regsvr32 /u /s shdocvw.dll
regsvr32 /u /s browseui.dll
regsvr32 /u /s jscript.dll
regsvr32 /u /s vbscript.dll
regsvr32 /u /s scrrun.dll
regsvr32 /u /s msxml.dll
regsvr32 /u /s actxprxy.dll
regsvr32 /u /s softpub.dll
regsvr32 /u /s wintrust.dll
regsvr32 /u /s dssenh.dll
regsvr32 /u /s rsaenh.dll
regsvr32 /u /s gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 /u /s sccbase.dll
regsvr32 /u /s slbcsp.dll
regsvr32 /u /s cryptdlg.dll
regsvr32 /u /s oleaut32.dll
regsvr32 /u /s ole32.dll
regsvr32 /u /s shell32.dll
regsvr32 /u /s initpki.dll
regsvr32 /u /s msjava.dll
regsvr32 /s urlmon.dll
regsvr32 /s mshtml.dll
regsvr32 /s shdocvw.dll
regsvr32 /s browseui.dll
regsvr32 /s jscript.dll
regsvr32 /s vbscript.dll
regsvr32 /s scrrun.dll
regsvr32 /s msxml.dll
regsvr32 /s actxprxy.dll
regsvr32 /s softpub.dll
regsvr32 /s wintrust.dll
regsvr32 /s dssenh.dll
regsvr32 /s rsaenh.dll
regsvr32 /s gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 /s sccbase.dll
regsvr32 /s slbcsp.dll
regsvr32 /s cryptdlg.dll
regsvr32 /s oleaut32.dll
regsvr32 /s ole32.dll
regsvr32 /s shell32.dll
regsvr32 /s initpki.dll
regsvr32 /s msjava.dll
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com

Last edited by geekhelp4u; 02-10-2009 at 02:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:00 PM
holyspidoo holyspidoo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
holyspidoo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yep, tried both techniques.

I've seen this only 2 or 3 times since the release of ie7. Saw it again last week, which is why I asked.

T'is the only problem that got the best of me in 12 years of doing this! My ego would love a fix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2009, 01:24 AM
Majestic Majestic is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 609
Majestic is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by holyspidoo View Post
Hi,

Here is the one problem I was never ever able to fix, except with reinstalling a clean windows. (maybe installing ie8 will finally solve this once it is released)


Ie7 is installed.

Trying to open internet options from the ie7 icon on the desktop or within the ie7 menu opens nothing. No error messages, simply nothing happens.

In control panel, the icon for internet options is there, but there is NO TEXT under it. Blank text with the icon. won't open either (no error).

Every policy setting in registry is okay.

The .CPL file is the right version. Tried copying from other computer, same thing.

I can change the .CPL file to open the ie6 internet options. But theses options are lackluster as opposed to ie7's

Removing/reinstalling ie7 causes same problem.

Uninstall to ie6 works, since the ie6 CPL file works when ie7 is installed.


My guess is ie8 will automatically fix this... but in the mean time, anyone has ever fixed this?

Thank you
Whenever I have issue with IE 7 itself I do a search on IE.INF and right click, INSTALL. Usually that solves the issue.

Majestic
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2009, 03:46 AM
abe's Avatar
abe abe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 1,144
abe is on the way
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestic View Post
Whenever I have issue with IE 7 itself I do a search on IE.INF and right click, INSTALL. Usually that solves the issue.

Majestic
hi majestic
what exactly does this do, and which problems can it solve.

thanks
abe
__________________
One should expect stupid answers to stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2009, 05:26 AM
Majestic Majestic is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 609
Majestic is on a distinguished road
Default

Running install on the ie.inf "virginizes" Internet Explorer back to how it was first installed with original settings.. if at least in the registry. It's worked for me numerous times.

Majestic
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:07 AM
stevenamills stevenamills is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 860
stevenamills is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestic View Post
Running install on the ie.inf "virginizes" Internet Explorer back to how it was first installed with original settings.. if at least in the registry. It's worked for me numerous times.

Majestic
Nice tip - Thanks!

Is this different than the reset from within IE7?
__________________
Steve

Fox Valley Computer Services
The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog. –Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2009, 10:13 AM
Flyingbull's Avatar
Flyingbull Flyingbull is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 137
Flyingbull is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Flyingbull Send a message via Skype™ to Flyingbull
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenamills View Post
Nice tip - Thanks!

Is this different than the reset from within IE7?
Many times the defaults can be corrupted within any version IE, so hitting reset will return them to a default that might of been set by malware or some other form of interloper. Using Majestic's technique would be the same as putting a computer back to factory settings.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.