Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Networking

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2012, 10:51 PM
benh4889 benh4889 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 48
benh4889 is on a distinguished road
Default Weak Wifi Signal Advice

Hi Guys

Looking for some advice about the wifi at my dads house. We live in an old style house which has really thick stone walls.

We having issues with the wifi signal in the outer rooms, its available, but only just.

Im trying to find out the best way of boosting the signal to the outer rooms.

The router we have in at the moment is a Netgear DG834G which is located pretty much dead center of the house downstairs. Iv installed a wireless repeater but due to the layout of the house it isn't working too well, if i move it close enough to the other rooms to give them a decent signal it doesnt pick up a strong enough signal from the router.

I was thinking of installing a wired AP up to one of the outer rooms which would solve the problem in my eyes, or how about upgrading to a better router?

What does any one else think

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2012, 03:03 AM
Tech in SC's Avatar
Tech in SC Tech in SC is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 199
Tech in SC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

This might do the trick...

http://www.ubnt.com/unifi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2012, 04:27 AM
npinc npinc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
npinc can only hope to improve
Default

Ahh! I've dealt with this before in Qatar. Over there all their walls are solid concrete. Makes for a wireless nightmare.

Grab yourself a set of these:

http://www.dlink.ca/products/?pid=DHP-307AV

Grab a router like this one:

http://ca.asus.com/en/Networks/Wirel..._RTN10Plus_B1/

Switch it to AccessPoint mode.

Put one of the DHP-307AV by your current wireless and run a cable between them. Put the other one in the far reaches in the centre of the weakest signal area. Connect the second router to it.

Voila! Problem solved.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2012, 02:08 PM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 8,072
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

I'd get some APs....the Ubiquiti Unifi LR models...pickup a 3 pack. Take the signal to each AP using moca or ethernet over powerline if you don't want to run ethernet cables throughout the house.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2012, 02:46 PM
Tech in SC's Avatar
Tech in SC Tech in SC is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 199
Tech in SC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

just knock all the walls out!

oh wow... too much coffee this morning i guess.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2012, 10:03 AM
benh4889 benh4889 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 48
benh4889 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the responses. Its clarified what I wanted to hear really. I'm going to run a Ethernet cable between the router and an AP, I'll just run it outside to avoid it trailing through the house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech in SC View Post
just knock all the walls out!

oh wow... too much coffee this morning i guess.
That sounds a fantastic idea. Let's do that
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2012, 11:59 PM
ITMAN's Avatar
ITMAN ITMAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nr Oxford, UK
Posts: 547
ITMAN is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to ITMAN Send a message via Yahoo to ITMAN Send a message via Skype™ to ITMAN
Default

Sorry to state the obvious but of its only a dg 834. G <--- try an N router = stronger signal?
__________________
http://www.jcsd.co.uk

JCSD COMPUTER SERVICES

Local PC Support in Oxfordshire
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2012, 09:01 AM
benh4889 benh4889 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 48
benh4889 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITMAN View Post
Sorry to state the obvious but of its only a dg 834. G <--- try an N router = stronger signal?
I think thats what ill do, i just wanted to see how everyone else gets round this problem
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2012, 03:41 AM
npinc npinc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
npinc can only hope to improve
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITMAN View Post
Sorry to state the obvious but of its only a dg 834. G <--- try an N router = stronger signal?
Actually, that's the biggest falsehood and misunderstanding in wireless. G and N both use the same signal power (give or take they each put out about 26mW). In fact G routers and APs exist that are SIGNIFICANTLY more powerful than N. I've used wireless G to broadcast about a mile with a good antenna.

The truth is the only strength of N is multiple antennas to broadcast around obstructions with their Mimo technology reducing the possibility of interference. Unfortunately it's effect is limited unless you have the same multiple antenna array on the other end and it's also limited by being in an unregulated band to keep costs down. If you drive it up to 5GHz there's less interference, but it's also much harder to penetrate obstructions at that frequency, cutting the range.

Wireless is heavily misunderstood and there's a ton of misleading information out there.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2012, 11:35 AM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 8,072
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by npinc View Post
Actually, that's the biggest falsehood and misunderstanding in wireless. G and N both use the same signal power (give or take they each put out about 26mW). In fact G routers and APs exist that are SIGNIFICANTLY more powerful than N. I've used wireless G to broadcast about a mile with a good antenna.
And this is also widely mis-used. While the technical measurement of distance is roughly equal, the signal and speed between the AP and the client is much higher with N...resulting in USABLE SIGNAL at the edge. I can surf at 300' distance with N, where with old G....my signal was so slow...surfing was futile. You end up with a larger USABLE footprint of coverage.

Tons of wireless networks that I've upgraded over the years...when MIMO came out back in the later G days...I could replace APs with fewer new APs blanketing the same area. And as N came out....I replaced with even fewer APs covering the same buildings.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.