Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2012, 05:40 PM
732914TECH 732914TECH is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 165
732914TECH is an unknown quantity at this point
Default internet explorer 100% cpu

Having an issue with a bunch of customer's machines, all Windows XP, either IE 7 or IE 8, Pro or Home does not matter. Ive had 5 this week where when they access a website other than something like google the CPU usage and memory jacks up really high to 100% and the whole machine becomes slow obviously. Ive tried multiple things, reinstalling IE, running SFC, uninstalled Flash and Java, reset IE to default settings, disabled everthing in startup using MSconfig, with no result. Has anyone else had this problem? And no its not a hardware problem, it seems to be a software problem maybe a recent update?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2012, 06:37 PM
I FIX PC'S's Avatar
I FIX PC'S I FIX PC'S is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ipswich, UK
Posts: 125
I FIX PC'S is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Have you done the obvious and looked at CPU usage to see what's eating it up?(all users).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2012, 06:47 PM
iisjman07's Avatar
iisjman07 iisjman07 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South End Of The UK
Posts: 3,049
iisjman07 has a spectacular aura aboutiisjman07 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Do they all have antivirus software installed or are they infected?
__________________
put that in your pipe and grep it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2012, 06:49 PM
Xander's Avatar
Xander Xander is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Niagara region, Ontario
Posts: 6,801
Xander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really nice
Default

No mention of trying IE in "No Add-on" mode.
__________________
Xander St Catharines Computer Repairs

New here? Watch this and read this. Remember, it's not our problem, it's yours so ask your questions well.
e.g. Make/Model#, Win version/SP#, BSOD 0x#. Consider posting Event Viewer logs, Autoruns exports or something.
More info means better answers and less snark.

Don't be parasitic and only pose your own questions. Help others.
Never trust a "tech" with a hotmail address.


D7 question/idea/etc? Bring it to the D7 Forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2012, 06:55 PM
732914TECH 732914TECH is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 165
732914TECH is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yes ive looked into what file was causing it using processor explorer and it was ieframe.dll, i tried IE no addon mode with the same result, and ive ran all my virus scan programs i can think of, it only happens with XP. I believe an update caused it, ive uninstalled the last IE update that was installed but did not help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2012, 11:42 PM
johnrobert's Avatar
johnrobert johnrobert is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 679
johnrobert is on a distinguished road
Default

Did you run combofix
Might not fix this problem, but generally great for IE problems
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2012, 01:37 AM
tf76's Avatar
tf76 tf76 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 544
tf76 has a spectacular aura abouttf76 has a spectacular aura about
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/fixit/


Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2012, 01:26 PM
732914TECH 732914TECH is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 165
732914TECH is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnrobert View Post
Did you run combofix
Might not fix this problem, but generally great for IE problems
Yes I have ran Combofix on one of the machines with no result.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2012, 06:28 PM
bsod's Avatar
bsod bsod is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
bsod is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xander View Post
No mention of trying IE in "No Add-on" mode.
+1 this is usually add on / toolbar related
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2012, 08:29 PM
732914TECH 732914TECH is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 165
732914TECH is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsod View Post
+1 this is usually add on / toolbar related
no toolbars installed, even tried with no addons enabled
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.