View Full Version : Windows 7 - $29.99 for college students
geekhelp4u
09-17-2009, 04:36 PM
link removed as it doesn't appear to be genuine - Simmy
Link readded - as it is genuine - http://windows7.digitalriver.com/store/mswpus/en_US/DisplayHomePage?resid=mSYpTgoBAkgAADSZkfsAAAAp&rests=1253214597511
That was released today by microsoft... so thanks for removing a perfectly legit link! It is a direct link from http://www.win741.com/
This site is hosted by The Rice Company on behalf of Microsoft
I got the link from http://twitter.com/MSWindows which is owned by MS
Rider
09-17-2009, 05:25 PM
you should know better.
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/scam-c98606.html#c326203
Thank you for posting however you didn't need to belittle him with the comment. Kudos to you for pointing out that one should beware of this offer but just because this is knowledge you have does not mean it's knowledge everyone has. This is exactly the type of comment I'm referring to in your father's farewell thread.
Don't you think it would have been more appropriate to state something like "Maybe this offer is too good to be true, check out this link."
Educate people, mentor them, make them better but don't belittle them. What's the point? It doesn't help them get better, it just makes them want to retaliate.
Rider
Blues
09-17-2009, 05:50 PM
I was thinking DigitalRiver had been involved in a similar and legitimate offer before with some MS product but I can't find and information on it atm so I would be very cautious if anyone tries to get this.
Rider
09-17-2009, 06:22 PM
I didn't have that knowledge, I googled it and knew it was a scam within 30 seconds or less.
I also googled it and did not come across the same link you did, granted I just skimmed through the links but everything I saw pointed to a legitimate company. It is also knowledge that I did not have therefore I thank you for educating me. My point was there was no need to belittle him for not knowing.
A side note: I can also google MS and find links touting why they are a scam.
Rider
eric76
09-17-2009, 06:55 PM
Oh give the guy a break — he was just trying to help people with a deal for Windows 7. Nobody's perfect!!
geekhelp4u
09-17-2009, 07:12 PM
That was released today by microsoft... so thanks for removing a perfectly legit link! It is a direct link from http://www.win741.com/
This site is hosted by The Rice Company on behalf of Microsoft
I got the link from http://twitter.com/MSWindows which is owned by MS
so again... the link is http://windows7.digitalriver.com/store/mswpus/en_US/DisplayHomePage?resid=mSYpTgoBAkgAADSZkfsAAAAp&rests=1253214597511
Rider
09-17-2009, 08:35 PM
Good find Geek. It appears your link is more legit than MC's. I suppose I can cut him some slack though, he just didn't know. Or should he have known better?
Rider
frostbyte5014
09-17-2009, 09:30 PM
Microsoft offers great deals all the time for students. Here's one that has been going on for a while. http://www.microsoft.com/student/discounts/theultimatesteal-us/default.aspx
eric76
09-17-2009, 09:53 PM
Microsoft offers great deals all the time for students. Here's one that has been going on for a while. http://www.microsoft.com/student/discounts/theultimatesteal-us/default.aspx
You're right, they offer really good deals. If you take a Cisco or Microsoft class, they'll give you access to most of their software. I got my copy of Windows 7 yesterday @ no charge.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.