PDA

View Full Version : enabler - re-enable stuff disabled by virus


AtYourService
09-12-2009, 07:48 PM
theres a blog i frequently check called ghacks (http://www.ghacks.net/2009/09/11/computer-virus-effect-remover-2/) that had a post about a program made in .net that re-enabled disabled reg entries that were caused by viruses etc , they touted the program as "portable" even though it had .net dependancies (they also offer a download with the .net files which come in at a whopping 50mb) We all know we can do the same things with a simple batch or vbs file. well i like assembly too and since i was complaining on the file size for something simple i decided to make the program
so here's the resulting 6.5kb file http://www.whatsmypass.com/enabler.exe

alls you basically do is open the program, check mark the things you want re-enabled (regedit,cmd prompt,taskmgr,folder option) and hit the enable button

let me know what you guys think

NYJimbo
09-12-2009, 07:55 PM
theres a blog i frequently check called ghacks (http://www.ghacks.net/2009/09/11/computer-virus-effect-remover-2/) that had a post about a program made in .net that re-enabled disabled reg entries that were caused by viruses etc , they touted the program as "portable" even though it had .net dependancies (they also offer a download with the .net files which come in at a whopping 50mb) We all know we can do the same things with a simple batch or vbs file. well i like assembly too and since i was complaining on the file size for something simple i decided to make the program
so here's the resulting 6.5kb file http://www.whatsmypass.com/enabler.exe

alls you basically do is open the program, check mark the things you want re-enabled (regedit,cmd prompt,taskmgr,folder option) and hit the enable button

let me know what you guys think

Can you make it so it determines if they are enabled/disabled in the first place. Checks in place or removed depending on current status ?

AtYourService
09-12-2009, 09:19 PM
yea if i have time this weekend ill add some more code, wasnt sure if anyone was interested in a program like this so i just threw something together quick

Davis Computer Services
09-12-2009, 09:34 PM
Can you make it so it determines if they are enabled/disabled in the first place. Checks in place or removed depending on current status ?

Sounds like a great idea to add to me. I would definitly take it with me.

Methical
09-12-2009, 10:04 PM
I would use it as well.. I'm quite fond of your assembly skills/projects mate lol

Maybe once your all done move it to the Repair Tools of the Week ...

What OS are supported ?

NickCat11
09-12-2009, 10:48 PM
Thanks, def going to add it to the toolkit :)

AtYourService
09-13-2009, 03:30 AM
any other disabled stuff i should add , like RUN sometimes gets disabled so ill add that

NYJimbo
09-13-2009, 03:37 AM
yea if i have time this weekend ill add some more code, wasnt sure if anyone was interested in a program like this so i just threw something together quick

I love programs like this. The less thinking I have to do myself, the more work I can get done.

iisjman07
09-13-2009, 07:23 AM
I made something like this a while ago, not sure if it's finished yet:

http://www.technibble.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8647&highlight=restriction

AtYourService
09-13-2009, 10:08 AM
added enable run box
and by accident i reversed the taskmanager code so it actually disabled task manager instead of enabled :eek:

so redownload the newer version at same link
still a work in progress , besides the stuff enabled already anything else i should add

@iisjman07 i commented on that post, i forgot all about it

AtYourService
09-17-2009, 06:22 AM
was bored today so i added loading icons from shell32.dll to the form
you can redownload from the same link http://www.whatsmypass.com/enabler.exe
http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/2842/enabler.png

still debating on adding if the key is there to checkmark the boxes
maybe if i got time this week i can add the code
has anyone had problems with it yet

ITMAN
09-17-2009, 09:46 AM
this didnt before, but is not being picked up by Sophos as

File "C:\Documents and Settings\...\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\3A2LANN1\enabler[1].exe" belongs to virus/spyware 'Mal/Packer'.

How shall I get around this? If i place on my USB toolkit, it will get removed at first scan?

arrow_runner
09-17-2009, 01:44 PM
Here are a few apps to look at if you want to get some ideas for the code/ui. http://sourceforge.net/search/?type_of_search=soft&words=virus+registry

My Tevics script also re-enables stuff, but it doesn't have nitty-gritty options though, just a 'Reset-the-registry' function because I don't see the need (for a technician) to have to go through and pick what items should be enabled.

Why does it matter if task-manager and the run box were disabled but not the registry editing? Just turn it all on. ;)

NYJimbo
09-17-2009, 02:00 PM
AVG is also coming up with it as a threat when I click on the link to download it.

Calls it "Runtime packed FSG"

Extra info shows: SHDOCVW
URL: http://www.whatsmypass.com/enabler.exe

schwags
09-17-2009, 05:07 PM
Great tool so far, thanks! One thing that I have not found on any tools of this type is the option to re-enable the taskbar. I have had a hell of a time getting the stinking taskbar back sometimes. Is that something that can be added? I have no programming skills whatsoever so I don't even know if this is a reasonable request. Thanks again, this looks to be the start of a great tool!

TheBiff
09-18-2009, 12:38 AM
Is enabler Vista ready?

AtYourService
09-18-2009, 03:28 AM
Great tool so far, thanks! One thing that I have not found on any tools of this type is the option to re-enable the taskbar. I have had a hell of a time getting the stinking taskbar back sometimes. Is that something that can be added? I have no programming skills whatsoever so I don't even know if this is a reasonable request. Thanks again, this looks to be the start of a great tool!

http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/nodesktop.reg

yea av's never liked FSG because virus writers used it to compress the .exes all the time
it had greater compression than upx though :/

i compressed it with upx now its 8kb and i made it start with checkboxes checked ,and icons to let you know if the function failed
and added manifest to prompt for admin rights on vista and win7

Methical
10-12-2009, 09:50 AM
What about re-enable the 'Show Desktop' icon in XP Quick Launch ?

Tweak
10-12-2009, 01:45 PM
Cool, thanks. It kinda reminds me of Taskbar Replair Plus (http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/taskbarplus!.htm) which is partially free, maybe look there for more ideas on fixes that can be added so we all benefit from a better app, thanks again! :cool:

AtYourService
10-13-2009, 04:27 AM
What about re-enable the 'Show Desktop' icon in XP Quick Launch ?

http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/ShowDesktopShortcut.exe