PDA

View Full Version : Updated Rate My Rig


MMAUY
08-28-2009, 06:47 PM
Updated my rig, new RAM MOBO & Case, tell me what you think.

Case- Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Mobo- Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-UD4H
RAM- OCZ Flex PC9600 1200MHZ x 8gb
PSU- Antec True Power Quattro 1000watt Modular PSU
HDD- WD Black 160gb for OS, WD Black 1tb x2 running on raid 1
CPU-AMD Socket AM3 720 Black Edition Triple Core 2.8ghz stock (OC to 3.4Ghz Stable) at 36c.
Heatsink & Fan- Zalman 9900 Nvidia Edition
Video Card- GTX 260 Core 216 (I know not the best card but gets the job done)
Optical Drives- LG DVD R/RW, Sony Blue Ray Drive.
22 inch HP 1080p Monitor
O/S- Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

Next Upgrade.
DDR3 Ram & AM3 DDR3 Mobo when prices go down for DDR3 Ram.

16 GB of DDR2

SSD

Windows 7

Dual ATI Video Cards, have always had Nvidia Video Cards but I am an AMD Fanboy and AMD only has AMD crossfire since they bought out ATI, so I have no Idea what to look for in a ATI video card.

NYJimbo
08-28-2009, 07:02 PM
Wow, all that and just to play solitaire....... :D

NickCat11
08-28-2009, 07:02 PM
That's one sweet rig you got there :)

NickCat11
08-28-2009, 07:03 PM
I forgot to ask, are you still amateur fighting? If so, how's it going?

MMAUY
08-28-2009, 07:10 PM
I forgot to ask, are you still amateur fighting? If so, how's it going?

Yea Im still fighting I might take my first pro fight with Palace Fight Championships.

Have done well in Muay Thai fights 4-0 in muay thai.

MMAUY
08-28-2009, 07:11 PM
Wow, all that and just to play solitaire....... :D

Cant play solitaire without a 216 processing cores its just not the same lol.

dhrandy
08-28-2009, 07:59 PM
You should have gotten an i7 ;)
I would have also went with the I7 if I had the money. What is the rig being used for? Gaming, Graphics?

noah
08-28-2009, 08:04 PM
I'm there with you. My case came today so I can assemble my new rig tonight.
I went the:
AMD quad core
750GB raid 1
Only 4GB of memory right now
Scythe SCKBT-1000 120mm Sleeve Kabuto 6 Heat Pipes CPU Cooler

Windows 7 is now available with MAPS so I am changing over my whole network this weekend to SBS 2008 and Windows 7.

I am an ATI fan myself. I am running the ASUS 4850 that I purchased about 8 months ago and it works great for me. My board has crossfire ability and I'm gonna get a second one next month. The price has dropped by about $70 from when I got it.

dhrandy
08-28-2009, 08:30 PM
I'm there with you. My case came today so I can assemble my new rig tonight.
I went the:
AMD quad core
750GB raid 1
Only 4GB of memory right now
Scythe SCKBT-1000 120mm Sleeve Kabuto 6 Heat Pipes CPU Cooler

Windows 7 is now available with MAPS so I am changing over my whole network this weekend to SBS 2008 and Windows 7.

I am an ATI fan myself. I am running the ASUS 4850 that I purchased about 8 months ago and it works great for me. My board has crossfire ability and I'm gonna get a second one next month. The price has dropped by about $70 from when I got it.

And again, what's the rig used for? Gaming, Graphics, CAD, etc?

I like Intel and AMD depending on what it's being used for. I have a Core 2 Duo desktop and a AMD Dual Core HTPC (Home Theater PC).

NYJimbo
08-28-2009, 08:48 PM
I just built a rig and used the Antec 900 Black Steel case because of the big 200mm fan on the top, but I have to say I'm a little jealous of yours with the three 230mm's, wish I would've seen it when I was purchasing. What kind of temps do you get from just air cooling?

This is what we did in the 70's with cars. But todays cars all almost impossible to work on so men have switched to modding PC's. Weird. :D

noah
08-28-2009, 09:03 PM
And again, what's the rig used for? Gaming, Graphics, CAD, etc?

I like Intel and AMD depending on what it's being used for. I have a Core 2 Duo desktop and a AMD Dual Core HTPC (Home Theater PC).

It's my main desktop machine so it's used for all kinds of stuff in the PC business world.

It's overkill for business stuff but I do play Warcraft on the weekends and I want that time to be fun. I left room for performance expansion for the occasional newer game that comes out that I want to play.

Geeky Neighbour
08-29-2009, 01:45 AM
Man, I really need to upgrade, my main machine is a Kuma 7750 + 4gb ddr800 + ATI 3870.

I need some more customers so I can afford to get me an i7 setup.
I few weeks ago I really noticed its time to upgrade. I was working in photoshop cs4 on a 10x4 ft banner at 600dpi and it just brought my system to a crawl :(

Someone give me an i7 please :eek:

If you are an Intel Channel partner you can get some pretty nice deals on the i7 during the ICC conference.
A couple months ago i bought a Core i7 940 + intel DX58SO motherboard for $320.
A couple weeks ago, i picked up 2 x Xeon E5530 chips, and the S5520HC dual LGA1366 motherboard for $775

You can't beat those prices. They're not for resale, but they are a cheap way to upgrade your systems. Once i get some ECC DDR3 ram, i'll have my server up and running :)

BiG_ReD
08-29-2009, 03:07 AM
Wow nice rig I built something similar a few weeks ago for a client, I had never been so happy to build a computer.

my new baby is on the way cant wait for it

Case: Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower
MotherBoard: ASUS M4A79T Deluxe AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX
Ram: OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black
Video Card: HIS H487QT1GP Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM
Cooling System: Thermaltake CL-W0175 Water Cooler
Power Supply: COOLMAX RM-750B 750W ATX12V

1aComputerServices
08-29-2009, 03:23 AM
Man, I really need to upgrade, my main machine is a Kuma 7750 + 4gb ddr800 + ATI 3870.

I need some more customers so I can afford to get me an i7 setup.
I few weeks ago I really noticed its time to upgrade. I was working in photoshop cs4 on a 10x4 ft banner at 600dpi and it just brought my system to a crawl :(

Someone give me an i7 please :eek:

My main PC is a 2.4GHz Celeron with only 512MB of RAM.

Runs Quickbooks and Outlook just fine.

I need something better, along with many other things...

MMAUY
08-29-2009, 08:08 AM
I use my rig just for gaming, I forgot to list I have a EVGA Killer Xeno NIC Card did do quite a difference while playing on line I scored it for dirt cheap on craigs list.

I thought about going I7 but I love the way AMD overclocks so easy Im not knocking intel but it was just way to much when I could get a AM3 processor for a fraction of the price that also like the I7 supports DDR3.

I just seen a refrigeration case, http://www.xoxide.com/thermaltake-xpressar-microfridge-case.html

I have never in my life seen a computer case that is refrigerated, its too much money for my blood but it would be sweet to have a refrigerated pc.

Maybe turn a Mini Fridge in to a pc? lol.

I can max out all of my games with my current Rig, will most likely upgrade again some time next year, I am never satisfied with my PC I always just want more and more.

MMAUY
08-29-2009, 08:11 AM
Anyone know where one could join a PC gaming clan/team? I usually do COD4, L4d for online, Currently playing offline tittles- Prototype, Fallout 3, Crysis once in a while (yea Crysis has great graphics but you can only play it for so long)

BiG_ReD
08-29-2009, 08:17 AM
Good man always stay true to AMD

that case is so cool I want it, a friend of mine hooked his A/C to his computer it runs ice cold.

haha yeah same here no matter how many times I upgrade it can always be better I wont be happy till i have four phenoms 64GB of ram and six GPU's

MMAUY
08-29-2009, 06:36 PM
Good man always stay true to AMD

that case is so cool I want it, a friend of mine hooked his A/C to his computer it runs ice cold.

haha yeah same here no matter how many times I upgrade it can always be better I wont be happy till i have four phenoms 64GB of ram and six GPU's

64 GB of RAM would be sweet, I seen a few mobos that can handle 16gb I hope this gets more poppular I think windows vista can handle something like 120 sum GB dont quote me though, I know a few MAC's have 32gb of ram thats the most Ive seen my self. But I would love to go 16GB of RAM in my current build but I have not seen any 4gb DDR2 sticks the most I have seen is 2GB ddr2 sticks.

Yea its hard to be satisfied its like you buy something and the next day you see something similar but on a higher level of performance.

Good idea on the AC.

I think condensation would fry your components in a matter of hours with that one.



Same here. Just spent over a grand building a decent gaming PC and already I need more ha. I really need to stop looking at threads like this.

Yea condensation would fry a system.

I seen a few competitions where some guys get AMD Quad Core Black Editions to go 7.1Ghz per core, using I think its hydrogen but dont quote me on what they use to cool it Im not 100% sure they use hydrogen.

greggh
08-29-2009, 06:54 PM
I just built a new one last week for my lab pc.

core i7 920
12 gigs of ocz pc10666
asus p6t mobo
1 tb 7200rpm for system
4 1 tb 7200rpm drives for data, raid 10.

Running debian and virtualbox with windows xp. Dual monitor setup, linux on monitor one and windows xp (virtualbox) full screen on monitor two.

NickCat11
08-29-2009, 10:35 PM
I just built a new one last week for my lab pc.

core i7 920
12 gigs of ocz pc10666
asus p6t mobo
1 tb 7200rpm for system
4 1 tb 7200rpm drives for data, raid 10.

Running debian and virtualbox with windows xp. Dual monitor setup, linux on monitor one and windows xp (virtualbox) full screen on monitor two.

What video card are you running?

greggh
08-29-2009, 11:34 PM
What video card are you running?

Its got dual ati radeon HD 4850s.

NickCat11
08-30-2009, 05:09 AM
Nice, that puppy must fly. I can't wait to do mine :)