PDA

View Full Version : [solved] Unusual problems.


Fred_G
01-11-2007, 03:34 PM
I am trying to get a Dell Dimension 2100 running properly for my friends parents.

There complaint: Computer no longer can access their digital camera via USB.

Well, I have not even gotten to that, I was going to do a quick spyware/virus scan for them, defrag the HD and see if I could get it running better. But, I put a NIC in (I am pretty sure it works, will test it later), and it shows up, but says media disconnected. I tried that line from my router on another computer and it works just fine. I can ping 127.0.0.1, but cannot get on the web with it on the offending computer.

I cannot access Device Manager in normal or safe mode. When I try to open it, I get a brief screen that says something like System32\mmc.exe and then nothing. Same thing with disk defrag. Will not start. If it were my computer, I would nuke it and reinstall WinXP, but since it is a Dell, not sure if they have the disk or not.

I have never come across this, any ideas are greatly appreciated.

E

TechPro
01-11-2007, 10:24 PM
Hello

I would find out if they have the disk or not and if you can do a repair on windows.

XP Repair (http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm)

if not this site might help you out:

http://www.bay-wolf.com/downloads.htm

Hope that helps

Bryce W
01-12-2007, 12:15 AM
Does the nic get an IP from the router? can you ping www.google.com?

As for the mmc.exe, MMC is Microsoft Management Console which is what allows you to change things (Device Manager uses the service as does the Manage option under My Computer). To fix this I recommend you either give System File Checker a shot (you'll need the Windows CD handy) which you can access by going to: Start > Run and type "sfc /scannow" without the quotes.

If that doesnt work Id look at doing a repair install for XP as Techpro mentioned.

TechPro
01-12-2007, 04:11 AM
I was going to mention sfc /scannow but I wasnt sure if that would fix the mmc errors.

Im always going for the difficult way of gettting things fixed! i.e repair xp!

Well you learn something everyday :)

Fred_G
01-12-2007, 04:31 PM
No, I cannot ping anything but the loopback. No IP appears to be assigned. Not being able to access the Device Manager is really throwing me off.

Now I do have a question about the Windows XP repair. I have 5 computers running in my single wide, all are legit. I have 2 XP Home disks. Can I use one of those disks to attempt a repair? I may try that this weekend, I will probably not hear from my friend until next week, he is going under the knife for some dental work. I would like to fix it as a learning process for myself. If using another XP Home disk kicks in the WPA, the computer has the number on the side of the computer (people rag on Dell, but they do great in my experience until you try to add stuff to them.)

Thanks for the replies.

E

Bryce W
01-12-2007, 04:38 PM
If you have 5 computers but only 2 disks chances are 3 are not legit unless you specifically brought stand alone keys for them. According to the XP license you are only allowed to install XP on one computer per copy.

Anyway, it shouldnt kick in the WGA using another XP Home disk (of the same Service pack level) as they are all the same.

Fred_G
01-12-2007, 05:37 PM
2 XP Home disks. 2 XP Pro disks, and one computer on the Linux. All my folders are legit here! But I think you confirmed my suspicion of being able to use any XP disk, if it matches up, to do a restore. I will try that this weekend.

Thanks, E.

Fred_G
01-13-2007, 05:31 PM
Format seems to be a go. I could fight it and maybe get it fixed, but I think Win XP is screwed up, and this is the easy fix I hope.

Will let you know what happens.

E

Fred_G
01-15-2007, 01:32 PM
Got XP Home back on their computer, but apparently, my NIC card is bad. I used to have a pile of them, but can only find one. Well, all the problems are solved by the reinstall of Win. I just need to scrounge up a NIC card and finish getting it ready for them.

Eric

Bryce W
01-15-2007, 06:48 PM
Glad to hear it.

Blues
01-16-2007, 04:13 PM
You can use any XP CD as long as it is the right version of it and you have a legitimate key.

Fred_G
01-29-2007, 05:28 PM
Thanks for the replies. I got the computer up on another nic card I found, got it updated, spyware removed, defraged, ready to use. Their camera works great, computer sees it and all is well.

E

Bryce W
01-30-2007, 01:03 AM
Glad to hear it worked out.