PDA

View Full Version : How to identify Retail,Corp, versions to reinstall


ell
04-28-2009, 04:49 PM
Hi, I tried to search forums but did not find the answer, this has plagued me from time to time, I get stuck activating xp. I come across a customer who has an old pc with XP pro or home installed, but with a old COA label for win 2000 or milenium, etc. So I break out keyfinder and extract the xp key. and look in system info for product ID, if it has OEM in it, easy, I know which cd to use, but if not I can't tell if its a corp, retail. Is there a way to tell from the key or product ID before formatting? Or can I use either and copy the wpa.dbl back to it after install?:confused:

abe
04-28-2009, 04:56 PM
http://www.thetechguide.com/howto/setuppini.html
http://support.microsoft.com/gp/pidwin

ell
04-28-2009, 05:06 PM
http://www.thetechguide.com/howto/setuppini.html
http://support.microsoft.com/gp/pidwin

I need to know which cd to use to match the key I extracted from the pc, Prod ID doesn't say if its a volume key or retail

ell
04-28-2009, 05:14 PM
What I'm trying to do is fine out what version TYPE is on the pc before I format and reinstall so I know whci hcd to use. Must be somewhere in the registry I would think

abe
04-28-2009, 05:26 PM
Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
In the Category View, click Performance and Maintenance, and then click System. In the Classic View, double-click System.
On the General tab, the Product ID (PID) is under Registered to.
these are the numbers the last three digits are the important ones
335, is usually retail
270. is vl
and oem is oem

Retail = 51882 335
Volume License = 51883 270
OEM = 82503 OEM

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Registration
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Setup\Pid

ell
04-28-2009, 05:40 PM
Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
In the Category View, click Performance and Maintenance, and then click System. In the Classic View, double-click System.
On the General tab, the Product ID (PID) is under Registered to.
these are the numbers the last three digits are the important ones
335, is usually retail
270. is vl
and oem is oem

Retail = 51882 335
Volume License = 51883 270
OEM = 82503 OEM

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Registration
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Setup\Pid

I saw this too, but unfortunetly the prod id numbers on hers didn't match any of those, no OEM so thats ruled out, retail then?

abe
04-28-2009, 06:06 PM
most likely retail
try google the pid,

why don't you just use her I386 folder to reinstall (if its on the system

ell
04-28-2009, 06:33 PM
most likely retail
try google the pid,

why don't you just use her I386 folder to reinstall (if its on the system

how do I use the i386 folder to do it?

abe
04-28-2009, 06:39 PM
follow the instructions to the tee

www.howtohaven.com/system/createwindowssetupdisk.shtml

ell
04-28-2009, 07:20 PM
follow the instructions to the tee

www.howtohaven.com/system/createwindowssetupdisk.shtml

oh, duh, senior moment, I did that with a pc's with a dead cd drive for reinstall. I was hoping for a easier solution. I'm going to google the PID and I think hes right, its probably retail

ell
04-28-2009, 11:48 PM
Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
In the Category View, click Performance and Maintenance, and then click System. In the Classic View, double-click System.
On the General tab, the Product ID (PID) is under Registered to.
these are the numbers the last three digits are the important ones
335, is usually retail
270. is vl
and oem is oem

Retail = 51882 335
Volume License = 51883 270
OEM = 82503 OEM

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Registration
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Setup\Pid

product ID last digits are 23923

abe
04-29-2009, 12:12 AM
check if you have the activation shortcut
in Start\All Programs\Accessories\System Tools\
if yes its retail if it would be vl or corprate it would not need activation

where did you get that pid # from
this is my pid
76477-OEM-0011903-00102
you need to post the # in place of oem, i wrote the last 3 digits because in the setup.ini file the pid only has 8 digits.

ell
04-29-2009, 12:31 AM
check if you have the activation shortcut
in Start\All Programs\Accessories\System Tools\
if yes its retail if it would be vl or corprate it would not need activation

where did you get that pid # from
this is my pid
76477-OEM-0011903-00102
you need to post the # in place of oem, i wrote the last 3 digits because in the setup.ini file the pid only has 8 digits.

its 640, I googled Diagnostic Report (1.5.0545.0) and found several examples, 640 and 641 appear to be volume licenses. Thats an excellent way to check it, never thought of the shortcut idea.

abe
04-29-2009, 12:44 AM
http://www.msfn.org/board/lofiversion/index.php/t83906.html