PDA

View Full Version : What's the worst physical injury you've suffered on the job? (if any)

Arcadio
04-21-2009, 01:47 PM
I've cut myself twice from sharp case edges. I also got a minor burn from a soldering iron back when I was a reckless newbie.

What about you?

arrow_runner
04-21-2009, 01:49 PM
I once cut myself on my own case pretty badly. I was so focused that I didn't even notice for a little while, but when I did, there was so much blood on the computer / in my room, you'd swear I had cut a vain.

Majestic
04-21-2009, 02:56 PM
Unfortunately I sliced my hand a bit and I needed stitches but thought nothing of it.. now I got a scar because of it.

Polysporin is your friend on the job if you don't want to cut yourself up permanently!!!

Majestic

Jory
04-21-2009, 03:06 PM
I've cut myself a few times on various things.

One time I had a PSU literally blow up and shoot out sparks/fire, but luckily I wasn't hurt. It was pretty amazing I wasn't though since my hand was positioned across the fan opening. It's too bad I don't have it on video because I possibly set the world record for reaction time on that one.

Bryce W
04-21-2009, 04:11 PM
I think we have all had cuts on sharp computer cases. I have had two PSU explosions like Jory said. I think the worst thing Ive had was an electric shock (or a super nasty static shock) which strangely enough, came from a printer USB cable. I know it sounds like a lie since USB is only 5volts, and I have no idea how it happened, but I got one serious shock from it. The tip of my finger really hurt, my whole arm was numb for an hour and I felt the shock all the way into my chest.

The client was doing house renovations at the time, perhaps that had something to do with it. I really dont know what happened.

Pc Fixed Right
04-21-2009, 04:17 PM