PDA

View Full Version : IP Network Camera


LunchBox
03-19-2009, 11:20 PM
Greetings,

Hopefully this is in the correct location.

I have a client that needs 2 IP cameras installed. This would be my first camera. How hard can it be, I am a tech so I should be able to figure it out.

Anyways. I have 2 cameras that I will recomment. Both have audio and one has a microphone (so she can say, get back you to work blah blah blah)

Its a very poor and small shop and they wont pay for a static IP. So I was thinking about creating an account with DYNDNS.org so she can use whatever name I come up with. Below are my steps.

*Setup cameras pointing to door locations (their request)
*Setup router to forward IP to both cameras
*Setup to record
*Setup DYNDSN.org account for remote access
*and test

1. Are the below cameras okay or is there a better recomendations?
http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/default.aspx?EDC=1596893
http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/default.aspx?EDC=953141

2. The clients has little money, would creating an account with DYNDNS the best way to go since its free
3. They only have 1 PC (yes they need to get one more for recording). If I set up the camera to record how much with it affect the PC performance wise (the PC is also the POS and scheduling app)
4. For the sake of installation I chose wireless.

Any suggestions, recommendations input will be greatly appreciated.

Also, anyone who already have a business with a name. If you have a name you wanted to user but chose another would you mind if you give me the name. I suck at coming up with names or being creative in that area.

Thank you for you time

LunchBox
03-20-2009, 12:59 AM
Any suggestions from anyone ?

Menaice
03-20-2009, 01:46 AM
you will have no issue setting up the IP camera's, but are you going to use an POE injector or will there be a plug next to each camera? dyndns will probably be the best way to go if they want to access remotely

LunchBox
03-20-2009, 02:29 AM
Thank you for your replay.

I am not sure what an POE injector is. The cameras are wireless. I would rather user wire but that means I have to run the wire and the ceiling crawl space is too small. Yes the DYNDNS is so they can access the camera remotely.

Do you have any idea if the cameras I picked are okay for the job? They seem to be kind of expensive. Also if I set the cameras to record on the only PC the client have do you have how much the PC's performance will degrade?

Thank you for your time. Its my first camera job and although setting up is just as a PC with port forwarding I feel that I am missing something and that the client will not be able to view anything.

Menaice
03-20-2009, 02:41 AM
Normally when your do IP camera's that are wired well you need a way to get power to them. So either theres a socket near by the camera to plug into (not recommended) OR you can get a PoE (Power of Ethernet) injector switch. Which will send the power through the Ethernet cables providing the power for the camera. Those do look like a decent camera. There are all in one packages aswell. Check here http://www.samsclub.com/shopping/navigate.do?dest=5&item=370517 That setup is extremely easy to setup.

When you get the camera's setup you need to be careful on how the camera record... they should only record when motion is detected and you can adjust the motion detection sensitivity. A sensitive setup can easily generate 20 gigs of recorded data a day which can eat a HD space up. Its recommended to install a second HD in the computer that will be running the recording software and have the "taped" clips stored there a 500gig should do the job

LunchBox
03-20-2009, 03:25 AM
I was looking at a setup like that but its way over the limit. I can get a setup similar for around $500 but they want to be able to hear, pan, so as a result I chose the ones I listed.

I forgot all about power over ethernet. I will look into that. You mentioned that its not recommend to have a socket near the camera why? I was just thinking about running an extension cord.

Wow the recording can eat up a drive quick. I wish they either had more money or werent cheap. I could probably get them to buy a new HD but they wont buy a new PC due to the economy. Would the recording degrade the PC's performance?

Thanks again.

Menaice
03-20-2009, 11:50 AM
while just running extension cords will work its just un-professional really, i know your on a tight budget for the install but i wouldn't want to have extension cords going to them and someone say "hey who installed your cameras" When recording the program is going to take away from the performace of the pc but if the pc has atleast 1 gig of ram you should be fine. I would diffenently recommend a hd, just add another in there and format it. So they will have 1 the OS is on and the other as just data storage for the vid clips

tartis
03-20-2009, 12:03 PM
I have a Linksys wireless cam in my house to keep track of teenagers. It is not the best method for a business. He can get a DVR for about $500 and be done. Sams also has a low end model with four cams for $518. The only problem is that you will need to run the coax cable to set this up, and I know that you said that space is limited. With a DVR, when the hard drive fills, it starts over-writing the old video so that you always have a good recording. You can also add a monitor if they need it.

http://www.samsclub.com/shopping/navigate.do?dest=5&item=416898

Menaice
03-20-2009, 12:23 PM
i don't think i would or could ever put a cam in my house to watch people inside my home. i would consider putting one outside. I dunno just seems way to invasive on peoples privacy. If you have to worry about teenagers stealing then don't let them in. But hey its your house you could put a camera in every room if you wanted :rolleyes:

abe
03-20-2009, 02:45 PM
I have a Linksys wireless cam in my house to keep track of teenagers.

keep track of teenagers!!!!, what type of teenagers need to be kept track of, is your house a prison, i don't want to sound to harsh, but whats going on???????

Abe

tartis
03-20-2009, 05:52 PM
LOL...I put it in the hosue 4 years ago when I went on vacation and 18 year old kids were at home. I saw them drink my booze and party everyday. It was very revealing pointing to the kitchen and living room.

Rider
03-20-2009, 06:21 PM
I ran into a situation where both me and my wife worked nights and we have 2 teenage girls. The rule was, nobody in the house while we're gone. We knew they were breaking the rule so I set up my web cam in the computer room for motion sensative recording. I chose the computer room because a) the web cam was already in there b) it was the most popular room for the kids as it's a computer/game room and c) I didn't want to be intrusive. The cam only captured people as they were coming in and going out of the room. It worked. I approached the girls the next day and described in detail the people that were in the house. Problem solved, nobody comes in the house when we're gone. The girls, to this day, don't know how I knew but they now know that I will know.

Privacy is a huge concern for me, especially being the father of 2 teenage girls. That's why I chose to only film the doorway of a common room.

It's not like being a prison warden in my opinion. It is a safety issue, my girls aren't seasoned enough to know what sorts of bad things can happen to them when mom and dad aren't around.

Back on topic, performance hits are going to depend on a couple of things. The computer that is running the software is the biggest factor. But you can also consider the quality of the recording in regards to resolution and frames per second. For just simple viewing of an area you can go with a very low resolution and a very low frames per second, maybe only snapping one frame every second or every couple of seconds. This will help both performance and hard drive space. As mentioned before, set it up as motion sensative.