PDA

View Full Version : Still Green


Tiddle
03-07-2009, 03:05 AM
Can i replace a AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ With a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+?

I dont have to get a new motherboard right?

How does the compatibility work? It has to do with the number of pins or something riight?

TimeCode
03-07-2009, 07:26 AM
Can i replace a AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ With a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+?

I dont have to get a new motherboard right?

How does the compatibility work? It has to do with the number of pins or something right?

I'll let you figure this one out by asking you 2 questions...
1) What Socket Type are they?
2) Is the Socket Type the same?

Tiddle
03-07-2009, 04:54 PM
Yes and yes

SO YES

Also found this

for those interested.

http://users.erols.com/chare/sockets.htm

purple_minion
03-07-2009, 05:23 PM
You have to be careful with the bios supporting the chip. I bought a MB and a newer chip only to read about how many people couldn't use their chips because the bios that came with MB wasn't the newest one and didn't support the chip. Thankfully I got one new enough to have support, otherwise you need to either find a CPU that is supported or buy an updated bios. Since you will have the old CPU you can always switch back and they aren't new chips... but still something to keep in mind... more of a FYI.

starfireone
03-07-2009, 06:34 PM
Of course.

Methical
03-07-2009, 10:09 PM
Awesome link Tiddle! Always handy to have..