PDA

View Full Version : What do you think?

TomOsborne
03-01-2009, 02:46 PM
My name's Tom Osborne and I live in the UK, I am a 16 year old teenager still currently in main-stream education and I am very computer/tech orientated. I love learning new things, to do with tech/gizmo's specifically, and I have always wanted to do something for myself in terms of making a living, rather than relying on 'big boy' companies giving me a job and so, have decided to look into the computer technician sector of today's industry.

I am currently studying Business Studies at school which I really enjoy, I am three quarter's of the way through the course and want to put what I have learnt to some use. I want to start a business by fixing any computer problems anyone might have, in Windows seeing as I grew up using it, unfortunately and hardware issues, also with the option of myself building a PC for a client. I have made three computer systems of my own and two computer systems for friends of family, all with success and have troubleshooted some problems in Windows that friends/family have come across. I have an Uncle who is successful in his trade, who owns and runs a market leading business in Semi-bespoke property management software, who has offered to fund me my first 500-1000 of equipment, which is very fortunate. My brothers girlfriend is a financial expert which could come in handy also.

The only and BIG problem is that of what I think and would love any feedback from you as to whether you think I am correct or not.

I keep thinking that my age might prevent potential clients from contacting me because of the negative image stereotypical teenagers have on the 'good' bunch, that we are rude and just mess things up. I also worry about how this experience may have an effect on my future in business, whether, if it goes wrong I won't ever have the will power to try it again.