PDA

View Full Version : Oh Shiznit!!!

MLCS
02-20-2009, 09:43 AM
Hey guys, I need to ask all of your help in a real serious way here for the next little while. I now have had my business license and a legit computer repair business for a whole 2 weeks... and now I'm faced with a huge change in my life that I have to make some decisions.

Like most of you I started this business as a side gig to get me back into the IT industry and make a little extra money. Problem is, yesterday I was laid off from my job. I've been working at a building supply location for 7 years, working my way up the ladder as fast as I could, and did very well. After 3.5 years I was into an outside sales position (generally takes 10 years plus to work into). Unfortunately it's all down the drain now. All my hard work for this company, all my time, blood, sweat and tears... and a lot of my own money too I invested into my job is gone.

So now I'm trying to figure out where to go from here. I REALLY want to see if I can make this computer repair business bloom.... but am I being stupid to think I can make it work? I mean, it will take a LOT of business to keep my income large enough to support my family, and my wife will be helping me out with this, but I want to be realistic.

I've pretty much figured I'd give it a shot, since I have a lot of contacts out there and hoping the networking of people will work for me. I'm just afraid, because I still don't feel completely up to date yet, and don't want to choke to death...

I'm a bit of a wreck due to the layoff still... it's a hard thing for me to swallow right now, but I'm really hoping you guys can help me out with a lot of questions I know I'll have and a lot of patience for the many areas I'm lacking knowledge in. So far you guys have been great and I've been learning a LOT. But I have a lot to learn still, and hoping I can lean on you guys for some support... for me and my family.