PDA

View Full Version : Remote PC Services Possibility

MSgherzi
01-24-2009, 05:06 AM
Hi,

At the moment, I do only on-site computer and electronics repair. So far, I've been making out pretty handsomely. I am currently majoring in Computer Information Systems and I'd like to be able to do a little bit of the work from my home as well.

I'm considering starting a Remote PC repair service and I wanted to ask a few questions to those who already do it.

Q1: What remote software do you recommend? I saw a thread below this that talked about it, but because I'm in college, I need something that's cheap and easy to use. I'd like to find something that's web-based so my customers don't need to actually install something.

Q2: Do I have the ability to format a computer using remote tools?

Q3: I'm known for my very reasonable prices and great service in my area. Since I don't even need to leave my house, I seriously do not see a point in charging $50.00 an hour like some other services I've seen. I can eat, drink, take a break, and do whatever while I fix the problem. I have always charged by the job rather than my the hour. I feel that my customers get a real sense of how much it'll be and they won't feel the need to stare at their watch and I won't feel the need to rush through it because I don't want to stiff them for their money. I tell my customers before I do the job how much I charge generally. For remote repairs, if I don't charge before the job then I could get ripped off very easily. On the other hand, if I charge first, my customers may feel that I could just run off with their money. Any suggestions?

Q4: How can I make sure that I'm not legally or in any other way liable or responsible to anything that happens after or during my process of fixing their computer?